When Stanley Park first opened, it was the largest, most heavily used public park in town. It is still the largest park, but it is no longer heavily used. Video cameras mounted in the park's parking lots last month revealed the park's drop in popularity: the recordings showed an average of only 50 cars per day. In contrast, tiny Carlton Park in the heart of the business district is visited by more than 150 people on a typical weekday. An obvious difference is that Carlton Park, unlike Stanley Park, provides ample seating. Thus, if Stanley Park is ever to be as popular with our citizens as Carlton Park, the town will obviously need to provide more benches, thereby converting some of the unused open areas into spaces suitable for socializing.

The author argues that the declivity in the number of people visiting Stanley Park is due to lack of seating facility unlike which Carlton Park provides leading to its burgeoning business and popularity. The conclusion thus drawn by the author about increasing the benches and using the open areas in Stanley Park is based on many unwarranted assumptions which when substantiated with deliberately convincing proofs; strongly weaken the assertion made by the author. For this the following questions must be answered.

First of all, the author relies on the numbers of cars parked in the parking lot for enumerating the number of people visiting the Stanley Park. The question here do all people come through cars only? There might be a case that people like to travel on foot and come visit the part instead of driving all the way through. Or there might be more bike users than the cars which the author fails to mention in his statement. If any of this comes to be true the number of people visiting the Park is erroneously counted. If such a situation prevails then the claim thus made by the author is seriously weakened.

Secondly, the ample seating in Carlton Park might not be the only reason for peoples’ attraction. There might be other factors as well such as street foods or some fun park arrangement which not only make people to attract but also the children to visit the park more often than the one with nothing as such. Even with limited space, the availability of such arrangement might hold people a lot than the one with bland settings. Children, adult and all groups of people are more attracted towards either food or fun which when provided with balance can be a boon for any business. So, if such a strategy is applied in Carlton Park then the assertion about having more benches than Stanley Park for its attraction is deliberately hampered.

Lastly, the location of Carlton Park might be one of the reasons for peoples’ choice. The Stanley Park might be located at the corner of the city when was not competed was the only choice for the people to have quality time in a park. However, the location of Carlton Park might be amiable for most of the people with abundant facility causing it to be easily accessed and more enjoyable than the Stanley Park. The author fails to mention about the location for both the parks which can be a significant factor in understanding the rate of popularity.

In conclusion, the claim as it stands now lies on many unfolded assumptions which when supported deliberately weaken the claim mad by the author. So, further evidence are needed to accept the claim as it is provided otherwise, it does not hold water.