Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could

The word scandal itself has many facets describing to be a triggering or drawing the attention to the topic neglected till date. What a scandal can do is merely a matter of time which if have veritable evidences might be a norm changing event, perhaps relying completely into this fact can be more challenging as none of the matter is a fact until proven which automatically turn to be a focus oriented “hot” case only. This claim thus made by the prompt can be agreed to some extent, apart there are many other factor adhering to it too which is mentioned below.

First of all, scandals are useful for converging the focus of the public, on the factors which are merely talked about. It leads to understanding the system and the course of conduct underlying it. For example, Bill Clinton and Monica Lewinsky is not an unknown scandal to all. The ruling president when found guilty with the scandal was impeached through multiple trails making him one of the second presidents of United States to be impeached and the first to be so on a sexual scandal. What lead because of this incident is the questioning on the conduct and credibility of the president. Similarly, the ‘watergate’ scandal is another well famous scandal where the president Mr. Richard Nixon was questioned for misusing his position, finally leading to his resignation in sooner time. This clearly shows, scandals are necessary to bring on the light on topic and showing off the scrutiny and clarity to the people of the prevailing system and activities.

Furthermore, a tiny scandal can ignite a series of investigation. This can be foreseen from the coal scandal in India where the then current Prime Minister Mr. Manmohan Singh himself was supposed to be involved. Drawing out the highlighted names not only charges the case to some height but also concerns the people to know the real incident and verity behind the cases. This incident was later addressed to the Supreme Court, which directed the credible investigation of the scandal. Even though, the case is still on the verge, it definitely waked up the culprits to have their hands off some illegal acts and further power the people to raise voice against it. The development of the investigation committee is a proof depicting some things are ought to be prioritized and assessed on the basis of scandal.

Lastly, with the media being an inciting factor in today’s life, scandal are often regarded as an act of gaining the views for the sake of inclining peoples’ choice and time. The more the viewers, more the likeness and consequently better the feedback. This eloquently polished task can subsequently tarnish the image and status hold by blamed personnel or the company. Recently, query regarding the activities of Monsanto was on the line where, the highly reputed seed producing American company was accused of depleting the native varieties of Wild plants in India and imprudent application of GMOs. The extent of this accusation was denied later but, the impact such incidence hold is magnanimous as peoples’ dependability on this company is questioned leading poor market performance and distrust from them. Instead of putting forth any theories some actual facts and pros are to be understood as they not only question the existence but make it impossible to survive on coming times.

To sum up, scandals are necessary to light some of the topic, give them peoples’ attention and required investigation but the nature and content of the scandal simultaneously control the latter impact of the incident. Some might get reformed while the other just live with the obligate consequence of it.