No act is done purely for the benefit of others.

Reason: All actions — even those that seem to be done for other people — are based on self-interest.

In the present world, the traits of kindness, empathy and devotion for well being of others are something taken as faked or an act of publicity. However, these are something people develop in their process of life which can be interpreted in any ways possible. The claim made by the author about self interest needs some concrete reasoning therefore I disagree with the given statement for the following reasons.

First of all, the idea that no act is done purely for the benefit of others cannot be stated as such because there are many of such people who have devoted their life for the sake of the other. For example Mother Teresa; who changed the perception of giving and compassion in the whole world. She could have lived as lavish life as she had wanted instead she advocated for those underprivileged children and people who needed love and care. She not only paved the way for giving but also inspired millions of others to follow the legacy and appreciate the pleasure of giving. No one can come closure to this act of kindness and devotion for humanity.

Secondly, the human right activist, Martin Luther King; who died for the sake of other, just for getting the right and equality they deserved. If he had thought just for his sake and his self interest, the voice of African-American would never have been heard and considered at the time of need. He gave his dream to the millions of American and helped them build their own, where people of all races and religion can live in harmony and mutual respect. Nevertheless, he lost his life to hatred and apathy, to radical thought and inequality. Therefore, some act are done just for the sake of others and for those yet to come so that the world we dream to live, we expect to have can be achieved and can be made.

Finally, some acts though seemed beneficial can have a deep connection with the self interest as well. In today’s time where everything is done for the sake of money and some media attention prevalence of such a scenario is not something surprising. For example, there are hundreds of organizations and foundation who for the name of supporting and creating a better life for orphan children or aged people have used the fund for their own self interest. For an underdeveloped countries occurrence of such an act has become a norm. This kind of act is one of the reasons for people doubting the validity and motive of contributing personal.

To sum up, some act are selflessly done for people and some are done for a motive to gain own interest. It’s up to peoples’ dignity and dedication where they are inclined towards for the sake of others or for own self.