To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Leaders are the one who are constantly poured with expectations and emulated for their jurisdiction and discerning abilities. The distinction between an effective and non effective leader lies on the mere line of morality and prudence. The prompt given upholds this theory which can be agreed with following examples.

First of all, every leader around the globe stands with the sense of serving and voicing for the rests. Be it in the field of business or politics a leader catching the public eye must lay within the boundary of ethics and code of conduct. Any stain in these features will strongly hamper the image and perceptivity of the leader on the people he so dearly wants to endure. For example, Bill Clinton, who was one of the most celebrated and respected president of United States, when was found having an affair with his secretary being on the highest rank, caused the most damage on his image than ever before. The expectation and reliance of his supporters waned after the scandal. This is a clear cut demonstration of what a leader need to feed his morality and dignity with especially when you are the one with power and the one to bring about a change.

Likewise, an effective leader with good moral principals is always emulated with not by his followers but also from those who oppose his position and stand. For example, a leader with good insight can be the one who would raise voice against the malpractice and injustice in the community. There are hundreds of incidents when crime and criminals just get passed from the hands of verdict due to aid of immorality and ribald personals. Here, the need of ethics and mores can be certainly felt because only a visionary and socially bound leader can see the need and seek for justice. A morally bound leader is not just need for changing the course and malpractice of the society; he/she is needed for finding justice and giving voice to unheard.

Lastly, a decorous leader can present him or her with integrity and probity not only in domestic arena but also in international platform. Martin Luther King Jr., Mother Teresa, Mahatma Gandhi, etc are few of the many such visionary leaders who changed the face of the society through their non violent and integral approach. They are still the most emulated people for many generations who seek to establish themselves within moral disciplines and probity. An effective leader is a paragon for bringing the necessary changes and establishing morality in society and in the people which is of greatest value than any of materialistic achievements.

To sum up, a leader with good morality and perspicacity is highly lauded and can have an eminent effect on people and society. Therefore, they must need to be bounded with ethical and moral standards.