The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy — and generate additional tax revenues — is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

in recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell , it is stated that the building a golf course and resort hotel would improve the economic status of the city. The writer of this recommendation has come to conclusion based on previous experience in Ocean View city where the business has flourished after building a golf course and resort hotel in the city. However, the conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which no clear evidence has been cited.

First of all, what was the economic status of ocean view city before the establishment of the golf course and the hotel? perhaps the Hopewell's economic situation now is better than that of ocean view city even after opening the golf course and the new hotel. Moreover, the argument mentioned neither the number of the visitors to the Hopewell city nor the business situation of the Hopewell city. Perhaps the number of tourists and the economic situation in the Hopewell is on the right path and it increase gradually without the need of the new hotel or golf course. If either of the two scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in the original argument is much weakened.

Second, the argument makes no mention about the weather in the Ocean view city. It is possible that the weather on the ocean view is pleasant throughout the year which makes it the perfect place to spend the holidays. Furthermore, the argument did not mention also if there is any tourism promotion campaign in ocean view which cause the increase of the tourists number. Without clear answer to this questions one is likely to believe that the argument is more a result of wishful thinking and not substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is weak owing to the type of evidence. it could have been considerably strengthen if the author provided more information that could help bridge the logical gaps, and without this information the argument remains unconvincing and open to debate.