The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company,

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen- produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

I do not support the recommendation made at the end of the argument due to several reasons. Firstly, the report of this movie production company only states that in the past year fewer people attended the screening of the movies produced by this company in question, but it does not mention anywhere if people attended other movie screenings produced by other production companies constantly in the past year, compared with the previous years. This invalidates the argument that only the said production company has experienced fewer public responses than other companies.

Although the advertising director claims that movie reviewers have positively reviewed the movies by this company more in the past year than any other year, it does not specify that the movies they reviewed positively were produced in the past year exactly, which creates confusion. Even if we consider that the movies received with appropriate acknowledgement were produced in the past year for the sake of argument, we do not know the facts and statistics if they are gaining more positive reviews than other movies produced from competing production agencies in comparison.

The director's suggestion that the problem lies with the lack of public awareness rather than other subsidiary factors can be refuted by the fact that maybe the advertisements are not doing justice in promoting the movies. The advertisements displayed to public could have been misleading, and might have resulted into driving regular movie viewers into being uninterested with watching them.The concepts of the respective movies were probably inaccurately portrayed while they were advertised. Increasing the allocated share of budget would not magically result in enhancing the quality content of the advertising, or play a direct role in improving the possible perfunctory advertising policies that might have been employed in the past year for the movies' promotions.

Therefore, I conclude by refusing to the assumption stated by the argument presented in the memo, the recommendation is not necessarily correct by all means and contain several seriously miscalculated judgements, and the argument should be considered with more deliberation.