The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company quot According to a recent report from our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended Super Screen Production movies than

The argument concludes that Super Screen Movie production company should allocate a greater share of its budget in advertisement. However, this argument does not mention some key facts on the basis of which it can be evaluated. It leaves behind a lot of unanswered questions. Appropriate answers to these questions would help us evaluate the recommendation.

Firstly, how is the quality of the movies produced by Super Screen ? The author assumes that the movies produced by Super Screen are of good quality only on the basis of the fact that percentage of positive reviews has increased during the past year. However, this evidence makes no sense. It is possible that the people who went to the movie theatre were die hard fans of the movies produced by Super Screen and they would stick to it no matter how worse the quality has become. The author also mentions that the total number of people watching Super Screen movies has dropped. Does not it give an indication that the quality has fallen ? As we do not have any reliable data about this we cannot make any assumption. If the author had provided unbiased reviews of the movies produced by Super Screen then we could make the inference that movie quality is good enough. The author also could have cited the average movie rating of recently produced Super Screen movies. If the author had provided any disinterested data about the movie quality then it would strengthen his position.

Secondly, how effective the advertisements would be ? The author recommends that to reach a greater portion of the public the company should spend more on advertising its products. However, it is not obvious how effective the advertisement would be in attracting a large pool of audience. Attracting audience by advertisement is a highly unpredictable goal. It depends on so many factors - story line of the movies, their overall quality etc. Most theatre goers check the movies' quality by internet movie rating systems like rotten tomatoes or Imdb. If Super Screen movies are not of good quality then it would not be able to get expected results by widespread advertisement campaigns.

Finally, why did the total number of people attending movies produced by Super Screen decreased from the past ? The author mentions that fewer people are attending movies produced by Super Screen. However, he did not provide any reason behind the decline. May be it is due to the lower quality of movies ? As we do not have information on this, we cannot make an inference. Again, the author claims that Super Screen movies are not getting enough exposure to the public and thus he recommends that more budget should be allocated to advertisement. If the movie quality is falling, how effective would be the newly undertaken advertisement measures.

In conclusion, the recommendation leaves so many unanswered questions. In order to assess the sensibility of the argument it is necessary to have detailed knowledge of all the contributing factors. The author did not provide information of numerous criticial factors. Without this it is impossible to evaluate the argument and reach a conclusion.