The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company, the author concludes that in order to reach the public more, the Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reach people through advertisement. The author has come to this conclusion based on several premises, that if true, could indicate that the argument holds water. However, there are three questions that needs to be answered by the author, that if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument.

Firstly, is the report given by the marketing department done systematically? The author assumes, without evidence, that the report given by the marketing department considering the fact that fewer people attended the Super Screen produced movie in that year are fewer than any other year. Perhaps the report given by the department was done hastily probably because there was no time to do efficient research during the recent time. It is also possible that the marketing department did not consider some factors like the total number of people in the area during the recent year. It is possible that the population of people in the area has dramatically reuced and this lead to a decrease in the number of people that attend the Super Screen produced movie in the recent year. If either of this scenario is true, then the author assumption does not hold water.

Secondly, is the percentage of positive review actually a yard stick to conclude that the number of reviews actually increased? The author presumes that, the percentage is actually a measuring yard for the total number of reviews that the movie production company got. It is possibe that the percentage of positive reviews increases but the total number of people that give the positive revies still remain the same. This is because the percentage is actually with respect to the total number of people and if the total number of people decrease apparently the percentage of reviews will increase and this does not mean that the total number of reviews actually increase but just the percentage of the review. If this scenario is true, then the authors suggestion is significantly weakened.

Finally, are these people not attending the Super Screen because they are not aware of the quality of movie that they have? The author assumes that people are not attending the movie place because they are not aware of the quality of movies that they have or probably because they do not know the extent to which the quality is. Perhaps people are aware of the good quality of their movie but

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarrated assumptions. It will be possible to evaluate the viability of this argument if the author is able to provide answer for the three questions.