The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling a sense of cooperation, not competition

Leadership is the ability of an individual to take the lead role and give proper guidiance to other people in the community. The controversy about the fact that government should prepare its young people for a leadership by instilling sense of cooperation and not competition has not being a trivial one has its has role in determining the economic situation. The prompt suggestion has several nuances that needs to be considered and it is imperative that competition should be instilled even though cooperation is also important. Therefore, I mostly disagree with the prompt for two reasons.

To begin with, it is important for government, industry or other fields to instill cooperation in order to prepare its young people for ledership in the sense that, cooperation brings about easy resolution of ideas and development of new ideas because people will be able to come to a reasonable conclusion in time. Take for instance, if there is a need to stop an act of robbery in an estate, and the people are trying to reduce the robbery by setting a certain time for the opening and closing of the gate to the estate, the most important factor to consider for such an act to be successful is for the people to cooperate and stay by the rules. If there is a situation where some people are feeling inferior about the rules and violate the rules, it might be impossible for such an act to be successfully done. Therefore, to prepare the young people for leadership, there must be an ethic of cooperation.

However, if cooperation is the only being considered without competition, how is it possible that there is always a best student in college? Also, why is there a need for a good GPA in order to secure a good job? The simple answer to this is that, there is a need for competition in order to ace well in life. For example, while we are in school, there is a price for the best of the class after every session which is the reason behind student being trying to come out the best and can be related to their competitive power to become the best and not just cooperation. The prize given to the student is a simple explanation of why competition is very important to be instilled in young people because it brings out their best quality.

Also, after a student graduate from college and need to face reality of life, the most important factor to consider and that can be used to access such student is the result he or she shows which is the GPA. Companies tend to chose students with the high GPA and this makes the level of competition higher in order to make a good leadership anywhere in life. Therefore if this is true, then it can be argues that competition needs to be instilled in young people for leadership in government.

In conclusion, it is important that competition need to be instilled in young people for leadership but only to the extent that it does not compromise the argument. As discussed above, competition need to be instilled in young people but but be accompanished by the fact that cooperation is also important.