The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leadership is the ability of an individual to control a set of people by giving directives and making decitions on importannt matters. It is imperative that in any society there must be a leader in other to have a peaceful society. The prompt suggests that the best way a society should prepare its young ones is to instill a sense of cooperation not competition in them. However, I mostly disagree with the prompt with two reasons but i do concede that cooperation should still be instilled in young people to prepare them for the role of a leader.

Firstly, there should be a sense of competition because it enables the society to get the best of the candidate in a gathering. Take for instance, during high school, why is there is need for giving prices to the best students? Apparently it is because competition helps to know the best student in the class. and this leads to a fair judgement. Also, after high school, grades are given to students to estimate their capacity and this is wat is used to judge their performance after college in order to secure jobs. If there is no competition and these grades are not been issued out, it might be difficult for the job examiner to actually estimate the ability of each candidate and this might lead to giving jobs to unqualified candidate. This also applies to leadership, if competition is not been mandated between the young people in the society, it might be difficult to choose the best one out of them.

Secondly, competition is needed in order to prepare young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields because it makes the young people put in their full effort and helps bring out the best out of them. This is because young people do not like to defeated and in the cause of knowing there is a price for any action being done well or bad, they end up giving their best effort and ensuring they are always th best. In doing this, it will enable the government or industry to actyally know the best person that suit in for the leadership role. For example, in a gathering of engineers where there is a need to pick a leader between them, the best way to choose the most suitable person is by giving them a timed task and estimate them according to their performance. These engineers fully aware they are competing for a posiition will outrightly do their best in order to win the position and this in-turn is beneficial for the industry because it enables them choose the best candidate of them. Therefore, competiton should be instilled in young people in order to prepare them for leadership in any field.

However, eventhough competition is very important in choosing a leader, the sense of cooperation cannot be shut down as it help in ensuring a peaceful society. If a society lacks the sense of cooperation there is a chance that such a society might not be able to survive successfully. For instance, if the people in the society only fight and never have peace, there is no way even the most reasonable idea can be communicated between these people. Conclusively, It is important that competition is very imperative to be instilled among young people but sense of cooperation should not be compromised.