The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company, it was concluded that the company should allocate more of her next year's budget to advertisement. This conclusion was made as a result of the positive responses by a comparatively small amount of viewers, and the director believed from his or her supposed justification that more financial commitments should be made to the advertising department in order to reach more prospective viewers. However, to properly evaluate the validity of the director's recommendation, three questions must be answered.

First, are feedbacks gotten from all of the past year's viewers? In other words, what proportion of the past year viewers dropped a review on their experience let alone positive reviews? It is possible that out of the supposedly small viewers, only an insignificant amount decided to comment on their experience in the studio. Hypothetically, out of about of 200 viewers, a total of 50 viewers might have decided to leave a comment on the content of the movie. Unless, the studio is one that plays on viewers' flexibility and rights by enforcing "a must comment basis upon the completion of any movie -which would be out rightly illegal in this current dispensation. In fact, out of the few reviews gotten, it is possible that only about 30 were positive ones. This type of figure is undoubtedly not an encouraging one and such basis as an indicator for good content seems frivolous. If either of the scenarios is true, then the director's contention on the basis of positive feedbacks gotten for more funds allocation does not hold water.

Further, is insufficient funds the current advertising strategy problem? Even if the content is good as claimed, the director presumes without evidence that the major problem with the studio's advertising sector is insufficient funds. It is possible that the problem is their lack of innovation in creating compelling trailers for movies or the workers are entrenched in an anachronistic and pedestrian approach for advertisement. As such, the prospective viewers impression of the studio is besieged by such prosaic advertisements. It is also possible that the advertising team are not well encouraged by the leadership (aside financial wellbeing). What if the leadership of the sector lacks empathy and makes the workers grovel upon his presence, thereby undermining their creativity and outputs. We do not just know. If either of the scenarios above is true, then the director's stance on more funds allocation is not overly persuasive.

Finally, is the report from the marketing sector a valid one? What are the basis used by the marketing department to generate such report? The director assumes without any need for further validation that the report might be flawed in significant circumstances. It is possible that the marketing report based their attendance record on the amounts of people that registered for the movies as opposed to the actual viewers. What if last year was not amenable for viewers to visit the studio (maybe a pandemic or any other unavoidable circumstances) that compelled them to forfeit their registration for a movie. As such, the problem may not be with the advertising sector but rather an environmental circumstances. Unless the director properly asses the basis of the reports in question, his or her conclusion on the need for allocation of funds for the advertising sector is unfounded.

In conclusion, while it is possible that more outreach needs to be done and its achievement is dependent on more funds allocation, the director basis for such conclusion is open to various questions (as stated above) that must be answered systematically and evidently to make his or her conclusion plausible and worthy of consideration.