The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memorandum sent by the business manager of the television station, it was concluded that the television station should return to the previously used schedule (which would devote more time to weather and local news than the current) for their late night show in order to attract more viewers and eschew the lost of advertising revenues. This conclusion was made as a result of the complaints received from viewers concerning the station's coverage of weather and local news and the loss of local businesses that advertise on the platform. However, the manager conclusion is based on two unproven conditional statements and unwarranted assumptions that must be further backed with substantial evidence to make his or her proposed contention plausible.

First, the manager assumed that the proportion of complaints received from viewers is profound when compared to the total amount of viewers of the late night show. Perhaps, the current schedule which focus on national news have increased the pool viewers that make the complaints of people less significant when the statistical evidence are proven. It is also possible that the amount of complaints received by the television station has drastically reduced since the adoption of their current schedule. In other words, viewers need to complain might have been eliminated as they now enjoy the wide range of the late night covering of the national news. Hypothetically, the television might have been receiving about 5,000 complaints annually before the adoption of such the current template and sequel to the use of the current schedule, the maximum complaints ever received was about 500 which just 260 focused on the weather and local news issues. Of course, it would be absurd to return the previously used schedule because of such amount complaints when introspectively considering the former statistics. If either of the scenarios are true, the manager conclusion on the need to devote more time to local and weather news would be devastating for the station. To this foregoing, the manager should properly explore the statistical evidence and not rely on mere reports properly gotten from his or her staff on the nature of complains received.

Further, the manager assumed without evidence that the major cause in the reduction of local businesses that comes for advertisement were a result of the reduction in local news and weather reports. This is a presumptive assumption as there might have been lots of other reasons for the recent plummet in advertising businesses. Perhaps, the prices charged from other companies have recently become lesser than the prices charged by the television station. It is possible that the recent increase in the charges of advertisement costs drove clients away from advertising in the station. It is also possible that a new company advocacy for a social or political cause might have driven client away. There are lots of businesses that would not want to associate with stations that have political bias or commitments. Consequently, there is a need for the manager to properly introspect and explore all other possible causes before making a presumptuous conclusion on the cause of the reduction in financial revenues generated from advertising businesses. If either of the scenarios has merit, then the manager's conclusion does not hold water.

In conclusion, while there is a possibility that the cause in the reduction of advertising revenues and complaints of viewers were contingent on the reduction in the amount of time dedicated to weather reports and local news, the manager conclusion is not convincing and rife with overly forward assumptions (without evidence) that must be ascertain on two fronts: is the proportion of complaints received substantial enough to necessitate a change and is the lack of local news and weather reports the main causes of the reduction in advertising business. Unless the manager prove beyond doubt these two circumstances, then the conclusion is implausible and not convincing.