Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is an established fact that the measuring index of the industrial revolutions (from first to the fourth) is technology. Sequel to the discovery of an unprecedented working machine, the world respond by identifying such inventions as industrial revolutions in which we are in the fourth era of such propensity. A plebian belief that brought about the advancement of industrial era was the notion of "easier work and better results" as a result of the inventions created. As such, the statement which claimed that the supposed aim of technology -which is to make lives better- have been ironical -by making lives difficult- is one I strongly disagree with for two reasons.

To begin with, the earth has always been seen as complicated from time immemorial. Ranging from the geographical confusion on the shape of the earth, the calculations of time zones to the development of a working life for all, humans have always seen the earth as a cornucopia of mysterious notions. However, the advent of technology has helped create a paradigm in our definitions of complexities. Technology has helped humans transcend from their benighted and parochial approaches to the world quandaries. For instance, diseases such as polio was once perceived as insurmountable by the 18th and 19th centuries humans and as such lots of lives were lost based on lack of necessary resources to tackle the world's ravaging diseases in time pasts. Nevertheless and quite fortunately, technology helped scientists discovered the best approach of immunization and swift supply of drugs to help eradicate the scourge of polio from the world. Can we imagine a world where polio coexist with the COVID-19 pandemic? It would be disastrous to say the least. The illustration above clearly show that technology did not complicate human lives but has helped humans come out from being imperiled by providing needed resources to tackle problem on a diverse scale.

Flowing from the coronavirus pandemic that was briefly compared in the illustration above, it is evident that technology has been a crucial part in the containment of the virus that has been ravaging humanity. Through technology, the virus -with a pretty high transmission rate- could be easily detected using PCR -an application of nanotechnology in medicine- which has undoubtedly help in curtailing the spread of the virus. In addition, despite the necessary "stay at home" policy due to the COVID-19 pandemic, lots of businesses are still in operation where virtual meetings via zoom, google meet, Microsoft Team has become the new order of the day. In fact, humans are beginning to comment and affirmed how enjoyable and productive it has been working from home with no worries on traffic or related logistics associated with going to work on a daily basis. Unarguably, the economy of the world would be described saved from apocalyptic events where we try to introspect of what the state of the world would have been in the absence of technology during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Finally, it is however crucial to state that technology has rather made lives complicated by creating problems that might have been inconceivable for the world. For example, various cancer diseases have been linked to radioactive reactions -a constituent of technology. Nuclear weapons invented has also been one of the most prominent reasons for global conflicts among others. However, the paradox of the complications of technology are also resolved by using the same technological approaches. The most effective way of treating cancer for example can be linked to technology. As such, technology has only made human lives develop and advanced beyond our widest imaginations.