The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Leadership is service and responsibilities to individuals, societies or organizations one have been committed to serve. As such, the basic tenet of leadership is communication to drive an inclusive and amenable environments for the followers. The prompt affirmed that the best leaders are those that promote feedback from the people whom they lead is one which I strongly agree with, noting that the importance of a report-based mechanism in leadership cannot be overemphasized and my arguments are based on two reasons.

To begin with, research by the author of a renowned leadership book titled "Primia Leadership" has demonstrated on several occasions that the most effective type of leadership is one guided by emotional intelligence. Emotional Intelligence in this case refers to a great considerations of the effects of every decision taken on the members, the personal welfare of all team members and the amenable work environments created for all that drives their productivity and mental stability. For instance, the transition of GLO -Nigeria foremost indigenous network provider- has been credited to the inclusive and all encompassing approach that have been strongly encouraged and practiced by the Founder and CEO -Mr. Mike Adenuga- of the company. Reports indicated that all employees, irrespective of ranks must have undergone a final interview with the CEO before being accepted. One could only imagine the joy and exuberance on the face of accepted candidates after being validated by one of the most influential and top five richest men in Africa of their deserving qualifications for earning the job. Beyond the final interview, employees also have personal check-ins with the CEO on their opinions on the organization's yearly performance and the way forward. It is therefore not surprising that Mr. Mike Adenuga company -GLO- became the first and only sustained indigenous Network provider in Nigeria amidst competitors of foreign origins. The above illustrations shows that the success of a leader is contingent upon the relationship and trust established between the leader and the employees. As illustrated above, GLO employees have not only been productive but most have been reported to spend a large amount of their career in the same organization with a satisfaction and alacrity of making the organization better. This implies that followers that feel valued will not only achieve the assigned tasks but go beyond their jurisdiction to achieve greater change as they identify with the organization above official assignments.

In furtherance, a feedback based system will also avail a leader a wider reflection basis and avoid the risk of complacency in his or her parochial belief of good leadership and successes. For instance, an appointed Manager might believe that all is going well with the organization by sticking to the books and figures coupled with a feel of complacency that his or her position is unthreatened. On the other end, workers and important stakeholders might be contemptuous with the task-oriented approaches and machinate to displace such leader in any available circumstances. Is it wrong to say the leader performance was poor? Of course not! However, the success of a leader is not only based on results achieved but more on the legacy and impacts instilled in the lives of the followers with a scintillating and appetizing desire to want more of such leaders. This example shows that task oriented leadership may not affirmed the continued approval of stakeholders. But the relationships, trust and impacts generated in togetherness through a free and accessible feedback mechanism is propitious to sustainable leadership.

Nevertheless, there are circumstances where leaders are lampooned on the basis of their free nature and easy accessibility. A leader might even lose his or her respect in the face of the followers that might have taken his or her genuine amenable nature for granted. As such, the feedback mechanism should not be a wanton one but one with clear boundaries for all followers. Comparing the huge disasters and scornful working atmosphere that is commonly generated by the lack of feedback mechanism, the best leaders have long demur such approach and embraced the relatable one that promotes an easy and productive legacy for all their followers.