The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The apothegm "Youths are the Leaders of tomorrow" has long existed with the coinages believed to have come from human's intuitive sense of being aware that all power and influences are only ephemeral -no matter how hard one strife to remain in such puissant position. Ranging from elections, coup, resolutions, impeachment and even the inevitable -death-; a leader will definitely concede his or her power through any of the circumstances mentioned amongst various others. As such, the introductory maxim of this write-up is a verisimilitude. Consequently, there is always an undoubted need to prepare the youths of today for the leadership position they are bound to take in the nearest future. The prompt affirms that the best way to groom the youths for leadership in any sphere of the society is through a sense of cooperation and not competition. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the prompts for two reasons.

To begin with, the tenet of sustainability in any action is contingent on total inclusion. In other words, the aphorism "leaving no one behind" is a requisite in attaining a sustainable leadership -one which meets the needs of the present without compromising that of the future. A typical example is the establishment of the United Nations Global Goals for Sustainable Development also known as the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) in 2015. The SDGs are a set of seventeen (17) goals that cut across ending poverty, promoting equality, fighting climate change and promoting social inclusion with a universal aim of achieving a world where everyone lives in peace and shared prosperity through partnerships. Profoundly, the SDGs were constructed by the Open Working Group -appointed by world leaders- at a conference in Rio de janerio, Brazil with a template on the loopholes identified from the recently concluded Millennium Development Goals (a set of eight goals that span through the years 2000 to 2015 in creating a better world). Some of the loopholes identified in the MDGs which resulted in a less than 50% achieved targets were a complete lack of inclusion. The MDGs only targted third world countries (African and Asian countries specifically), this segregation made the world powers to act perfunctorily towards the goals leaving African and Asian leaders with the needed autonomy to extol funds directed for the achievement of the MDGs. The OWG discovered this great barrier and emphasised that to achieve the SDGs, the goals must target everyone irrespective of position, power, gender and race. Thenceforth, the SDGs has brought an unprecendent cooperative among allys and enemies to achieve a common goal through a total inclusive model thta all countries stand to gain for. This example illustrates that to truly achieve a sustainable leadership, solidarity is the way forward, if we are to learn from history.

In furtherance, competition has been a major driver of conflicts in the history of the world. From World War 1, World War 2, Cold War, Trade War and many more. There is a fairly more profound insight; the pine of world leaders to be identified as the top power. World War 2 was reported to be a major feud between the Soviet Union and the United States with many nations taking the side of any of the two countries. Looking at the devastating effect of the World War 2 from Nuclear damages in Hiroshima and Nagasaki to millions of lives being lost, it would be a total negligent to trump competition over cooperation in a society that want to survive. In fact, the World War made world leaders considered the league of nations ineffective which led to the establishment of the United Nations to foster more cooperation. Our past leaders experience with wars must have birthed their clairvoyance in creating a global institution (the UN) that was the most propitious approach to avoiding the scourge of war in the nearest. Evidently, the world as of now has been able to avoid another world war despite more enmity and technological advancements. If competition were the priority, a war would have most likely occured threatening the survival of humanity.

Evidently, history has taught us that a sagacious society is one that priorities inclusion, solidarity and cooperation over competition any time and any moment to keep surviving. It is unarguably the best way as affirmed by the prompt.