The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The aphorism "you can't deceive yourself" could be said to have been coined out of the the reluctant nature of the human minds to come out of their comfort zones whilst yearning for personal development. This sagacious saying is indeed a presentiment associated with the noticeable wrong approaches of individuals that find it difficult to accept their weak traits and become free of their habitual culture to foster developments. The prompt which recommends that the first step to self knowledge is rejection of the familiar is one I strongly agree with for two reasons.

To begin with, development cannot be attained and sustained without taking the bold step of truncating the past ways -that have not yield propitious circumstances- on the basis of the fear of the future consequences. For instance, Africa has long been identified with myriads of challenges (ranging from insecurity, poverty, poor infrastructures and many more) that have become perennial in the continent and it appears that the only way is to go to the past and correct the wrongs. While Africa problems seems inexorable, it has been further convoluted by the inability of the leaders and residents to accept their familiar unwholesome lifestyle must be repudiated to enhance development. Some have even misinterpreted these perennial problems as endemic to African culture. It is therefore not surprising that various leaders have claimed to revolutionize the continent but the image presented to the world still remains besieged. The example above illustrates that tolerating the current problematic circumstances of humans with the fear of taking a radical change by ending one's inveterate culture will not create a paradigm shift to a noticeable development in one's self.

In furtherance, there is a need to accept that "In dreams begin responsibilities". In other words, to attain one's desire and passion, one must be able to accept responsibilities that largely depend on an individual discipline to think and go beyond the norm. Undoubtedly, the competitive nature of the world has made humans accept the trends to ascertain their survival. It is however paradoxical to see oneself uncomfortably positioned in a work environment that is not in tandem with one's passion. For example, in the early 19th century, the world parochially believed that air flight is an impossibility. The Wright brothers however rejected this benighted beliefs and challenged themselves to align with their passion in causing a radical change to the world's transportation mechanism. In fact, most of the revolutionary inventions are made by great minds that have the needed discipline and determination to reject the norm with a prescience to creating a better world in which everyone will live in peace and shared prosperity. This illustration affirmed that the inconceivable developmental changes that the world have witnessed were as a result of the ability to reject the past and accept one's knowledge and belief in creating the change one desires.

However, the rejection of the familiar might threaten one's culture if not properly preserved. There are developmental changes that have changed the cultural tenets established by our forefathers. Nevertheless, looking at the effects and the amalgam of traditional changes to one's invention around; it is no gainsaying that the tactful rejection of the familiar is the first and much needed step to create the change one desire.

As such, the recommendation given by the prompt is valid and essential to realizing one's status quo which would subsequently give the chance for future developments.