Paleo diets, in which one eats how early hominids (human ancestors) did, are becoming increasingly popular. Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food, especially bone broth, a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours. They believe it has many health-promoting nutrients, such as cartilage, which can heal our joints, and chondroitin, which promotes nerve regeneration. Skeptics point out that ingested cartilage can’t replenish cartilage in your knees or elbows and ingested chondroitin doesn’t make our brains any healthier. Yet, there is strong anecdotal evidence that people who consume bone broth have fewer metabolic and inflammatory diseases than those who don’t. Therefore, ancient humans knew something about our physiology that we don’t, and that by emulating the way they ate, we can cure many chronic illnesses.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In a description of the validity of the efficacy of Paleo diets -endemic to human ancestors-, the author concludes that ancient humans have an hidden details on our physiology than what we know in the current dispensation. This conclusion was made from the premise of a supposedly strong statistical evidence by raconteur on the proportion of individuals that consume broth having fewer inflammatory and metabolic diseases to individuals that don't. However, the author's conclusion is contingent upon three unwarranted assumptions that must be significantly explored to ascertain the validity of such propositions.

First, the author assumed without evidence that the anecdotal evidence on the few records of inflammatory and metabolic diseases remain relevant today. In other words, the author assumed that a report (whose time is not stated) can be considered in current and future considerations. Perhaps, the anecdotal evidence was presented when the world has not possessed the eclectic abilities of preparing different meals -that have been recognized to be the cause of various diseases that exists today. For instance, diabetics is global problem that research has shown to be either hereditary or a corollary of one's eating habit; that is lack of temperance for carbonated drinks, fats and oil, carbohydrate foods amongst others. If either of these scenarios have little significance or merits and as long as the question on the timeline of the anecdotal evidence remains unanswered, the author's conclusion on the effectiveness of bone broth against metabolic and inflammatory diseases does not hold water.

Further, even if it is true that the bone broth prevents metabolic and inflammatory diseases, the author presumptively assumed that it is easy or possible to emulate the eating habit of the human ancestors. Noting that in the early days, the lifestyle of our ancestors have been reported to be a less stressful one where ample of time is dedicated to one's wellbeing and care. However, we now live in a world where hard work is crucial to make ends meet. Hard work in this sense refers to working minimally eight hours daily all through the weekdays aside the habitual traffic experienced by one during transit to work and back home. It seems almost impossible to be able to create time to cook for 17 hours in the name of good diet. In fact, such act would be interpreted as frivolous except one is a professional chef. The example above illustrates that the crucial part of the author's conclusion will most likely be unamenable to this current generations. As such, the author need to properly clarify the approach of "emulating" the diets of our ancestors for his contention to stand a chance of be persuasive.

Finally, the author presentation on the popularity of Paleo diets is vague. Is it a global trend, or a local one in the bucolic area of a small town in Mexico? We do not just know. In addition, the cause of the popularity are not clearly stated. it is possible that the popularity is a scornful one that individuals are stigmatized to the practioners of such culture. We do not just know. Unless the basis of the popularity of Paleo diet is clearly described by the author, the tenets of the author's argument is significantly and dramatically weakened.

In conclusion, the author's conclusion on the knowledge of human ancestors to ours and the need for us to emulate their eating habits is rife with unwarranted assumptions -as stated above- that must be properly explored (in a systematic research) to render it at least persuasive and considerable.