Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

From the Earth formerly thought as flat-shaped, the parochial belief of the impossibility for flight let alone going to the moon, disbelief in blackholes, theory of relativity and many more, the evolution of the world has been perpetually controversial. As such, controversial subjects are inevitable and their avoidance is a bane to the development of the world. The statement which affirmed that engaging in controversial topics is incongruous to the origin of the world's development. Indeed, controversial subjects in the sciences, humanities, businesses, religions and many more have been the basis of our current trajectories and great enlightenment -all of which are deciphered through active but not apathetic engagements.

The avoidance of controversial topics on individual's or groups' core beliefs is synonyms to conceding to their opinions and indirectly strengthening them to continue in their supposed malfeasances. A typical example is the common and profound goal of Christianity which is to preach the gospel to everyone and bring more souls to their Lord Jesus Christ. However, some Christians emphasize the need to avoid controversial subjects which is a paradox as their aim of changing one's core beliefs should not be expected easy without challenges. Additionally, some opposition views might not stop at their controversial view but might promulgate derogatory statements to one's core beliefs which must be repudiated through either one's direct or indirect engagements. A typical example is Albert Einstein whose theory of relativity was harshly criticized but his tenacious engagements in the same discourse have been a turning point for the world.

It is also crucial to state that your point of view might be the wrong one. There is a need to always hear the mavericks or oppositions out. Some iconoclastic sayings might sound exasperating and opaque but should not necessitate a snub. The flaws in one's core beliefs can't be identified by being taciturn or disregarding others view. Embracing it will not only challenge your core beliefs but promote more self reflections which might come in handy.

Nevertheless, controversial discourse are mostly contentious which generate heated and often times emotionally derogatory statements. Considering the evolution of mankind and the world trajectory, avoidance should not be an option but embracing them with a placid sense. Comparing the results -although exacting- that comes out at the long term from controversial discourse to their avoidance shows apathy is not a safe zone but a stagnant one.