The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

The advertising director believes that an increase of advertising budget would help the movie production company to increase their reach to the public. However, there are many loopholes in the logical process preceding this conclusion. The report he mentions lacks quantification of the reviews' sample size, and he draws illogical relevance between the report and his decision to increase next year's budget.

The report contends that fewer people have attended the movies in the past year than any other year, yet it does not specify the amount of these people and the number of years the movie company has gone through. If the movie company has seen only a slight decrease in numbers, there won’t be much of a difference, nor a problem to solve in the first place. Same can be said about the number of positive reviews. If the number of these reviews are actually insignificant, the movies are perhaps not as good as the director had thought. The problem would then perhaps lie in elevating the quality of the movies instead.

Even if there is a huge difference, and that the problem does lie in advertisement for the past year, it does not indicate that this would be the problem for next year as well. There is no direct link of causality between good advertisement and high public viewers. If the movies next year are awful, no amount of advertising will bring more viewers. Perhaps more money placed in the movie production instead can bring in more viewers than the advertisements themselves. If that is the case, a higher advertisement budget would, instead, backfire on the director's wishes.

Additionally, there should be more investigation on why "specific Super Screen movies'' had higher positive views. Is it because of a movie trend that coincided with the phenomena of the time period, such as apocalypse-themed movies during the COVID pandemic? Or is it because of a favorable director or famous actor? If there had been a lack of viewers but higher positive views in the past, could it be that these audiences enjoyed watching a movie in a less-crowded setting? If that is the case, more budget on improving viewers' comfort would be more ideal.

In order to make a decision to increase the budget in marketing next year, the director will need to provide more information on the reasons for the positive views and the number of these views. A more thorough investigation of possible problems for next year’s conditions would also help make a more reliable decision. Only then will it be wise to put out money that might be better spent somewhere else.