The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.”

Though the news program faced complaints and lost advertising venues the past year, the argument in the memorandum does not prove that the program should restore time to weather and local news. There is insufficient information regarding the nature and number of the complaints as well as the reason for the cancellation of contracts and the number of these cancellations.

First, the business manager should specify the content of the complaints. What exactly did the viewers complain about the weather and local news? Did the viewers complain about the reduction of weather and local news? Or is the quality and accuracy of these news the reason for their discontent? If the answer is the latter, then more local and weather news would not attract more viewers and advertising revenues.

Moreover, the manager does not point out the number of these complaints. Even if these complaints were about the decreased amount of weather and local news, their opinions would not matter as much if they consist of only a small number. There should be a comparison between the overall complaints prior to the past year and during the past year. If there is an overall reduction of complaints about news content after the change to more national news, then viewers may be, in fact, more satisfied with the news content now.

As for advertising contracts, it is true that local businesses may cancel their contracts because there are fewer local residents interested in watching national news. However, there is no indication that local viewer rates fell due to the change. Though local viewers might be interested in watching local news, they may also be eager to know about what has been happening nation-wide. Local businesses might have retracted their contracts for other reasons.

Likewise with the previous point about complaints, we do not know the number of local businesses who have canceled their contracts. If only one or two local businesses made such a decision, the loss would not matter as much. Actually, it would be a wise decision to not restore local news if the program receives higher view rates because of more national news. Thus, it is also necessary to know the amount of views after the increase in national news. If there has been an increase of views during the past year, then more businesses would scramble to put up advertisements with the program.