A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the study wishes to establish a possible connection between the rise of salicylates in food additives and the number of headaches for residents of Mentia. Though the results of the study may prove to be correct, the argument in itself remains in need of several clarifications to be persuasive.

The first question that needs to be addressed is whether salicylates can cure headaches. Though the study points out a possible correlation between the commercial use of salicylates and the number of headaches, that does not mean that consuming salicylates does, in fact, lead to less headaches. Researchers will be able to draw a more reliable conclusion by designing an experiment that directly controls the amount of salicylate intake, rather than through its commercial usage. Like with aspirin, people may take salicylates as a pill for headaches while experimenters observe the effects.

Another question that needs to be answered is whether the rise of the commercial use of salicylates may purely be a coincidence to the decrease of headaches for people in Mentia. Perhaps the companies that manufacture these salicylates-induced products also happen to add other additives to preserve their foods. If the rise of other kinds of additives also coincide with the rise of the usage of salicylates, shouldn't the other kinds additives also have a possible affect?

Another factor to consider is that the study was conducted for only twenty years. Even if salicylates does lessen headaches, we do not know whether it is more affective for a certain age group. For example, if salicylates only works on the younger generation, and that the residents of Mentia gradually consist more elderly due to low birth rates, salicylates will have a lower impact on headaches of the population. Plus, though companies may plan to add more salicylates to their foods, it does not mean that more residents of Mentia will consume foods with such additives. If they become more health-conscious in the future, their consumption of foods with additives may decrease, thus lowering the amount of salicylates they consume.

While it is possible that salicylates can reduce headaches, the study does not guarantee an absolute decrease of headaches in the future for people of Mentia. To better predict the results, further study will be needed on the exact effects of salicylates and whether it's further addition to foods will lead to an increase consumption.