Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

The media is the perfect tool for digging up dark pasts. From powerful politicians to dazzling celebrities, no one high enough on the social ladder can escape under its scrutiny. It comes as no surprise, then, that it is difficult, if not impossible, to find a famous person with an untainted past. However, that does not mean society no longer finds heroes to look upon. People who are considered heroes are not always perfect, yet they continue to serve as beacons of light for those who admire them.

It is true that the media can paint celebrities in the worst light. News reporters and anonymous users behind social media accounts alike yearn for the juiciest news about those considered eminent in the public eye. Look no further than the subjects of worship in recent pop culture—Kpop idols BTS, who capture the hearts of millions of fans worldwide. Images of the perfect men, these idols are asked to uphold the highest of morals, and face drastic consequences if they ever disappoint their fans. Thus, when BTS member Jungkook was given a ticket for only turning at a red light, he immediately had to write a sincere apology about his mistake, while his traffic violation was widely broadcasted in the media.

However, such errors are forgivable, and despite the media’s constant search for dirt, BTS remains remarkably unproblematic in the public eye. There has even been rumours of how Dispatch, a media company that specializes in kpop scandals, gave up on following BTS due to their lack of scandalous actions. Thus, they continue to be role models after years, with an ever-growing fan-base that provides seemingly unconditional love and support. Such love does not pertain only to Kpop idols. In western celebrity circles, actor Keanu Reeves is considered an impeccable man for his humble living in spite of his impressive earnings from numerous movies, plus his generosity with donations and down-to-earth personality. Though there have been those who criticize Keanu’s choice of marrying a woman much older than he is, Keanu is still much loved by the public as well as the media.

In fact, even if the media speaks lowly of celebrities, a huge part of society would still consider their stars to be heroes. President Trump may be the best of examples, as he maintains a subject of worship to his many supporters, despite how the media has broadcasted his many wrongdoings, including his racist and sexist remarks. The phrase “love is blind” comes to mind here; though hero worship is different from romantic love, powerful emotions accompany one’s respect towards another person, making it possible to turn a blind eye to their oftentimes many imperfections.

Perhaps it’s because we, as human beings, understand that nobody is perfect. Therefore, errors are forgiven, brushed off, or intentionally forgotten. Perhaps it’s due to a pure need for someone to look up to, so that we have hope for something better, whether as a role model for ourselves, or an implication of change for the society. No matter the reason, heroes remain permanent in our society, and their power cannot ever be fully diminished by the media.