Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

In ancient Greek times, art had been seen as one of the most important subjects, along with mathematics and language. However, nowadays, music, acting, and dance have undoubtedly lost their stance as essential courses, whether in middle school or higher education. It seems that the schools themselves are discouraging students from choosing studies that may not yield results, especially in their future careers. Yet, I do not believe it is wise for educational institutions to take responsibility in affecting students' choice of study.

If the meaning of "success" is based on the possibility of obtaining a job through a predetermined field of study, students would look to education as a mean to an end, and in which the end indicates stability. Education will no longer be seen as an end in itself, as the pursuit of knowledge becomes the pathway to monetary gain instead of inner growth. Schools will become factories that churn out unthinking citizens who are dissuaded from learning for learning, but learning for success (and whatever that "success" means for the responsible institutions).

Even if educational institutions were responsible for students' field of study, they have no possibility of predicting which fields are the best in the future. As Sir Ken Robinson contends in his viral TED talk, we are unable to foresee what kind of skills the next generation needs to thrive. If that is the case, it would be unwise to assume one correct path based on past experience. As the world changes rapidly beyond our ability to determine what is best for our children, shouldn't they be allowed a greater range of possibilities, rather than a restricted recipe for success?

Moreover, let's say educational institutions do predict, through sophisticated technology of some sort, the fields with a higher percentage of success rates, students have their own free will to choose the field that is best for them. Though educational institutions can provide suggestions supported with analytic data to help students choose fields that can suit them the most, it is up to the students' themselves to decide which ones match their own talents and interests. If we were to push students with artistic talents to study fields that require mathematical skills, they may fail miserably or become more diffident as they are unable to showcase what they are actually capable of achieving.

It is wise to provide students with information about which fields may lead to higher pay or greater opportunities. However, I disapprove of educational institutions taking the liberty to sway students' decisions based on what they believe is "success." Education is more than a key that opens doors to future careers but to exciting knowledge that benefits the mind.