Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Dr. Karp criticizes Dr. Field’s research, calling Dr. Field’s research erroneous because Dr. Karp claims to have a more accurate method and conclusion. It may be that interviews are better than observations, however, the explanations he provides are not well-supported enough to be persuasive. He draws incomparable causal relationships, lacks quantification, and makes evasive comments.

First, Dr. Karp assumes that children who talk more about their biological parents are also raised only by their biological parents. It’s true that children might talk more about their biological parents because they spend more time with them, but other adults in the village might also have a hand in taking care of these children as well, just not in direct contact with the children. If rearing a child also means to provide for them, spending more time interacting with and educating the child is not the only means of rearing them. Perhaps other adults are responsible for providing food and other necessities for the children, thus spending less time with the children themselves. Instead of using “time spent talking about biological parents” to determine who rears children, Dr. Karp can provide more direct evidence, such as questionnaires to ask people in the village if they took care of children other than their own.

There is also the question of sampling. How many interviews did Dr. Karp conduct? If he did few interviews, it wouldn’t be sufficiently representative. There is also the question of percentage. Dr. Karp can conduct sufficient research overall in the group of islands, but does little in research of the island of Tertia. If that is the case, the conclusions he made about Tertia would not be accurate. His research will be more conducive with more samples.

Even if Dr. Karp is right about how children are raised by their biological parents now, he cannot determine if Dr. Field’s research is wrong. This is because Dr. Field’s research was done twenty years ago, and changes could have happened during these twenty years. Perhaps children were reared by the whole village in the past due to generally harsh economic conditions, but not recently thanks to a better economy which allows for everyone to concentrate only on their own family. Dr. Karp will need to confirm that the conditions had not changed within the past twenty years with further research, perhaps from other research.

In addition, if Dr. Field’s research is wrong, that does not mean his method of observation is wrong. Dr. Field might have made mistakes during his research that has nothing to do with his method of observation but his process of thought, how he links correct observations with wrong conclusions. The truth is, even if he does make mistakes using observational research methods, that does not rule out its better usage in every kind of research. It does not make observation less ideal for research compared to interviews. For example, if a researcher were to do research on the living habits of a secluded tribe, it would be difficult to conduct interviews without knowing the language. Making direct observations would be easier to understand their culture instead of learning the language.

Dr. Karp will need to evidence his research with a stronger link of causation between his interview questions and conclusions, a sufficient number of samples, and further study that proves how interviews are better than the observation method. Only then can Dr. Karp make his argument more convincing and make better evaluations on whether observation is better and whether Dr. Field’s research is valid.