A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The recommendation urges that students conform to the same national curriculum before entering college. This is based on the assumption that students will have a more effective learning experience by taking classes deemed important for all. Since students at a younger age do not yet understand what is best for them, how can they know which classes to choose from when they have yet to know what they want in life? Surely, having the same curriculum as a nation would enable students to focus on their studies and build up solid, basic knowledge instead of pondering over a myriad of possibilities.

Nonetheless, this recommendation disregards students' differences. While some might not be able to decide for themselves, there are also some who have clearer interests at a young age, and would benefit from a curriculum that best suits their needs. For example, fashion designer Jason Wu was discouraged from the arts when he received elementary education in Taiwan. Though he loved designing clothing since then, he was unable to develop his talents in the arts because conventional Taiwanese curriculum wrote off art as an insignificant subject. Fortunately, he had the chance to pursue an education in Canada, where he was accepted in an environment that was more open to a variety of interests. If Jason Wu did not have the resources to pursue an education abroad, his talents could have been buried due to a rigid, test-orientated curriculum. Instead, he was fortunate enough to be able to choose a curriculum that was better suited for his needs. This would have been impossible if he had not had the resources. Not all students are as lucky. If the curriculum is constrained to teaching certain subjects, students with potential in other subjects would be overlooked.

Another reason why there should not be a "one-for-all" curriculum that all students should follow is that no nation can predict the best curriculum for the future generation. Even now, when nations do not have a set curriculum for all, governments are struggling to provide a general curriculum that works for the younger generation. As Sir Ken Robinson points out in his TED talk, normed curriculum frowns upon subjects relating to the arts, and push students to pursue a higher education. Instead of encouraging diversity, students are forced to swallow a set curriculum that kills their creativity. Government policies bring forth educational reforms that cannot keep up with how fast the current industry is changing. If students are forced to study the same curriculum, they will likely give up on pursuits that do not pertain to what they have learned. This would be devastating not only for the students but the society as a whole, as the working industry highly value diverse abilities.

It is true that a general curriculum would help students attain the necessary basic knowledge. However, this general curriculum should not be the sole choice for everyone with little room for adjustments. After all, education is about helping every student learn, regardless of their different backgrounds, personalities, and talents. Additionally, no one can determine the content for the best curriculum. Having a standardized curriculum would assume that there exists knowledge in certain fields that is more important than others. Yet, no one can predict what abilities people should acquire to prepare themselves for the future. Our society would gain more from diversity, and that includes a diverse curriculum with space for creative growth.