In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Virtually everyone has encountered someone who shys away from the unknown, especially when it comes to art. “I don’t go to galleries because I don’t get what all the rage is about!” The ignorant friend mutters. “What makes a few lines and blocks of red, blue, and yellow so famous?” The sentiment is common, as similar phrases are uttered about different forms of art, and an understandable one. However, just because many people do not understand art, it does not take away art’s merit.

It’s true that art does great things when it resonates with people. Among all art forms, pop songs filled with repetitive lyrics are perhaps the easiest to understand. Just recently, singer Olivia Rodrigo’s songs “Deja Vu” and “Driver’s License” hit the Billboard’s chart top ten, both of which contain easily understood lyrics about the pain of heartbreak. This might not have happened if the songs expressed complex sentiments not understandable by most people, and if the lyrics did not cover phrases that can be found among the common sentiments of broken hearts.

However, art works can easily become cliches when they are too easily understood and thus overused. Fans are constantly seeking for new content and eccentric flavors that do not pertain to the norm, and that goes beyond run-of-the-mill pop songs. Movie-lovers also yearn for unpredictable plots and imaginative story lines. Perhaps this is why a love for animation has risen, for imagination is given free reign, producing paramount works such as Spirited Away; an anime filled with fantastical characters without clear explanation of their design and purpose, the audience are left to draw connections to what each character represents. The rise of complex art forms brings with it a breath of fresh air in the entertainment industry.

Even when art does not satisfy public entertainment, there are still great benefits for the few who are able to see its worth. For example, critical analysis is utilized to decipher the many layers of any piece of literature. Readings into works that are not easily deciphered at first glance allow new discoveries that bring not only satisfaction but also an edifying experience. The many explanations of the same text also widens the reading experience, as students of literature are able to explore art through the various viewpoints in literature reviews. The complexity of literature allows for multiple interpretations, thus stimulating the mind. This broader view can be expanded to issues well beyond the world of art.

Though it might be difficult for many to see the worth of art, this lack of understanding does not devoid art of its many enjoyable qualities. Even when the appreciation of art is realized by only a few experts, art remains a worthy asset of human creation. An incomplete comprehension of art does not deter the human mind from seeking the beauty under its veil.