It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Human beings are social animals. The fact that people rely on the help of others, and have a need to connect with those within our social circles seem to imply that we can be defined by these people as well. However, I believe social groups should not be the primary way for us to determine our own self. There are many facets of our personality and will that shape us as who we are.

It’s true that we see ourselves through the eyes of others. According to one psychological theory, the self is partly shaped by other people’s opinions. This is because we realize who we are from friends and family when they point out our own characteristic traits. Since our own self-introspection may not be accurate, we look to those who interact closely with us to see ourselves more clearly. This is why college students are advised to send their graduate SOPs to their professors, friends and family, for they are those close enough to provide insight on what kind of a student they are.

However, there are times when we do not believe in other people’s view of ourselves. For example, the hackneyed phrase of “beauty in the eyes of the beholder.” While someone may consider themself to be unattractive, they can perhaps be considered dazzling in the eyes of loved ones. In this case, those who are not confident would not feel empowered despite the words of others. There are also times when we disagree with people we have intimate relationships with. For example, parents might see stability as the most important factor when choosing a career; yet, youngsters with dreams of their own would reject parents’ advice to chase their own dreams. Much like what cliche movies talk about finding oneself, following your parents’ footsteps is their dream, not yours. A child is not defined by their parents.

Not to mention, it is impossible to be defined by social groups when people you become friends with can vary across different types. Anyone can seek the friendship of another with an open mind, and though that mindset can have the person be determined as “open-minded,” their friends can range from introverted to extroverted, or classical lovers to rock fanatics. Though “birds of a feather flock together,” that does not necessarily mean that we only interact with those who are similar to us. If that is the case, we might even be the ones who influence our social groups. Perhaps we are not defined by those we hang around with, but by how we influence those around us. Though we seek validation from our peers through imitation of others’ behaviors, we also change the people we are close to.

Despite the many influences from our family and friends, our own identity is not primarily associated with our own interaction with them. We can choose to interact with different people, but not be defined by their actions. In fact, we can become those who change others in our society, and prove ourselves to be someone who is able to shape who we are through our own free will.