Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

“The only true wisdom is in knowing you know nothing.” This quote from Socrates embodies the very importance of questioning what we know, as the Greek philosopher imparts wisdom on profound thought, and implements his belief into his teaching. Till now, it remains undeniable that independent thought is superior to that of blind acceptance; however, no one can deny that danger lurks in questioning everything we know. Whether such dangers are worthy of the knowledge we seek lies in the choice of each individual.

The most obvious reason why people should question what they are taught, is that they all have biases. From parents’ and teachers’ personal views to national propaganda, what people learn as they grow up relies heavily on their surroundings. For instance, if a child a grows up in an environment where parents are opposed to same sex marriage, the child may grow up to adopt the same view without the willingness to explore the reasoning behind homophobia. However, if the child is also taught to question what they know, they can also develop a more malleable perspective, and perhaps embrace opposing opinions. A mind that is open to new possibilities is one that should be encouraged, especially in a rapidly-changing world where what is thought to be true can be overthrown in the next moment.

Nonetheless, an affinity for questions can become dangerous for anyone living in an authoritarian regime. For example, the North Korean government withholds information on the outside world from its citizens. North Koreans are left to their own imaginations of what other countries are like, fed with lies about how North Korea remains more prosperous in comparison. As defector Kim Young-il confesses, it was not until he arrived in South Korea did he realize “how unhappy [they] were.” However, to question the authorities while being under its absolute control would be suicide, as numerous defectors have stated the terrible consequences of speaking against the government: imprisonment in labour camps or even execution. In fact, that might be the best case scenario, as the worst would be extended punishment for their family as well. To question is to risk not only ones’ life but the lives of loved ones.

Another risk from questioning is the rejection of hard-won facts. There remain skeptics who question the existence of coronavirus, convinced that the pandemic is a government ploy to have people vaccinated against their own wishes. Manifestations fill up the streets to protest against wearing masks in public, while government officials declare that they refuse to have their children wear masks because they believe it affects their breathing. Thus the questioning of truth is what leads to the spread of fake news, and endangers people’s lives. Doubt in the face of religion also threatens conventional stability, for people need faith. To question one’s purpose in life will lead to no answers. However, having a particular religion allows people to have a sense of belonging and direction in life. If people are unable to believe in anything without constant questioning, it would be difficult to feel at peace with one’s conditions.

Questioning is better than blind acceptance for this is how humankind improves. However, it can be risky to question everything, whether it be the legitimacy of an authoritarian rule, the veracity of facts, or the mysteries of our existence. Having the courage to question everything is ideal, but it should not always be encouraged.