The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable.

Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of Super Screen Movie argues that a greater proportion of their budget should be allocated to avertising and promoting their content. According to the director, this should be done to overcome the decline in audience that the production company has faced over the past year. He reaches this conclusion based on the fact that the percentage of positive reviews of their movies have gone up. This leads him to believe that their movies are of good-quality, but are not promulgated among the public. However, two questions need to be asked before we can consider his argument, and hence his conclusion, to be a reasonable one.

First of all, is it possible that the percentage of positive reviews have increased because of a significant decrease in the number of people who are reviewing the movies? If there are very few people watching these movies and reviewing them in the first place, that could mean that a lot of negative reviews, which would have been otherwise casted, are not affecting the reviews right now. The director assumes that the percentage of positive reviews alone is a ground-truth indicator of the quality of the movies. But the amount of people watching these movies, and therefore leaving a review, should also be taken into account. If the percentage of positive reviews have gone up because of a reduced denominator of the number of people opting for Super Screen movies, that could be an indicator of bad quality content. This could imply that their movies have deteriorated to the extent that people will not bother themselves to even leave a review on how bad it is. In such a scenario, spending more money behind advertising might not be the most productive thing to do.

Secondly, is there a statistic that indicates that the outreach of Super Screen movies have actually declined compared to the previous years? The director is very fast in assuming that the decline in their followers is because of a lack of promotion from their end. However, before making such a strong assumption, he should try to come up with a numerical statistic that shows how the outreach of Super Screen movies have changed over the past year. If he sees that the number of people who know about the Super Screen movies have not siginificantly changed, this could imply that people are deliberately turning away from these movies. This, in turn, would mean that the budget increase should not be focused towards promotion alone, but rather towards the overall betterment of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

In conclusion, the director of the Super Screen Movie Company makes some very bold assumptions, leading him to a possibly wrong conclusion about his comapny's budget allotments. To make his argument more robust, he should find answers to the two questions mentioned above.