A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

I mostly disagree with the recommendation, as having just one curricululm for an entire nation restricts the variety of education that is available to that nation. Moreover, mandating a particular curriculum to all students will most definitely fail to nourish the various talents that different students might possess. If a curriculum is focused more on the natural sciences, a student who has an inherent talent in sports or music will not get the best opportunities to develop and present their skills. The authority in charge of setting up this single curriculum might have predilections that they reflect in the syllabi and evaluation methods. Parents and students might have a strong dislike towards this curriculum, but they will not have any other option except to oblige with this requirement of the government.

On the contrary, having multiple curriculums in a country introduces a variety in the education sector, which in turn brings about multitudes of advantages. People will have a catalogue of curriculums to select from, each of which may be tailored to focus on different fields. This also introduces a "competition" among the different education boards, where they get to adapt the good features of each other, and collectively bring about an improvement in the nation's education. For instance, the evaluation methods of one curriculum might be better at assessing the creativity of its students, which gives the other curriculums to adapt this feature from them.

With all of the above being said, I will concede that having a single curriculum ensures a uniform distribution of knowledge, which may help to assess students on the same scale. But the advantages of having multiple curriculums clearly outweighs this trivial advantage.