A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The prompt superficially presents the results of a recent study that shows that the increase of the commercial use of the chemical substance, Salicylates, has a correlation with the decline in the frequency of headache cases observed in the residents of Mentia. The author of the prompt concludes that, as the use of salicylates increase even more in the future, owing to its newly found use as flavor additive in food, the number of headache cases in Mentia will wane even more. However, for this argument to be reasonable, several questions need to be answered.

First of all, did the study show a causation between Salicylate intake and headaches? The author of the prompt seems to assume that because the study shows a correlation between the two factors, this must imply a causation as well. The author does not mention any intricate detail of the study, even very necessary ones. For instance, the author does not mention if the study focused on people who had consumed salicylate-containing food. For all we know, the study has discovered a correlation between the proliferating use of salicylates and reduced headache in people. If the people in question did not consume Salicylates from commercial food significantly, then it can be said that the correlation was possibly caused by some other factors, and not because of the remedial effects of salicylate. Moreover, even if we assume that the study ensured people consuming salicylates as its subjects, the decline in headaches over the twenty years could just as well be caused by other factors. Take for example the rapid advances in medical sciences and treatments that has most definitely occured during such an extended period of time. Therefore, if the study fails to show any direct causation between the two factors, the author's conclusion, that an increase in salicylate usage commercially will reduce the frequency of headache cases, is not correct.

Secondly, assuming that there is a remedial effect of salicylates, will the residents of Mentia consume the new food products? The author assumes that the food products that will now contain salicylates as flavors will be significantly consumed by the residents of Mentia. If, let's say, these new flavored food products are not made available in the stores of Mentia, or if these new food products receive a widespread disapproval from the residents, then the increased use of the chemical will not change any remedial benefits that these residents may have achieved from their existing use of salicylate.

Moreover, there is no evidence provided in the prompt that the increased use of this chemical will not backfire and cause a detrimental effect on the residents' health. That is another question that could arise regarding the author's conclusion.

In conclusion, the author of the prompt makes an unwarranted prediction that an increase of usage of salicylates will dwindle the headache cases of Mentia. He uses the results of a study to backup his claim. However, as elaborated in the previous paragraphs, some questions need to be answered before the author's argument can be considered reasonable.