Young people enjoy life more than older people do.

While some people may think that young people are the ones enjoying their lives to the fullest, I do not agree with this thought. In my opinion, older people has the capacity of enjoying life more. I hold this opinion for two reasons.

First of all, in the contemporary world, young people face a lot of pressure to figure out what they want to do in the future. Most young people, however, remain uncertain about their future ambitions for a significant portion of their youth. This uncertainty keeps them constantly occupied in trying to figure out their next goal, which in turn, precludes them from indulging in life enjoyments significantly. For example, when a student graduates high school, they face a tremendous amount of pressure to decide what they want to do next. They are presented with a seemingly infinite number of options in front of them. They can, for instance, opt to get into a job or they can try to get into a university. Each of these options in turn expands into more options in the form of what type of jobs they want or what major they want to pursue. On the contrary, an older person will have reached a much more stable position in life. Their careers are more likely to have been stabilized over the years, which in turn allows them to enjoy life more. The uncertainties that young people face about the future enervate much of the enjoyment out of their lives.

Secondly, young people are not financially independent. While money may not be the only source of enjoyment in human lives, a lack of it does restrain the quality and the quantity of enjoyment that one can have. Besides this, young people are always under the pressure of earning or saving money. This pressure diminishes their ability to enjoy life even more. For example, a university-going student might desire to go on a weekend trip to recover from the stress of assignments and projects that she had faced over the week. However, she might not be able to execute that plan because of a shortage of money. An older person is more likely to have more money in the bank and hence would not have to limit such wishes for financial constraints. The lack of money and the stress to save up can, therefore, cause young people to enjoy life less.

In conclusion, I believe that young people enjoy life less than older people do because young people face a constant uncertainty about their futures and they have less money to spend behind the things that they want.