People today spend too much money on clothing to improve their appearance.

Some people may argue that the increase in prices of clothing is a consequence of the increasing trend of prices of almost every product around us. Although this may partially be a reason why people spend too much money on clothes these days, I do not think that this is the primary reason. I think that people care about improving their appearance too much, which is why they spend too much money on clothing. Therefore, I agree with the statement given in the question. I hold this opinion for three reasons that I elaborate in the following paragraphs.

First of all, the fact that appearance is overvalued by people today can be seen in the way that the society, as a whole, tends to judge people based on their outward appearances. A person who is dressed lavishly will be favored in many aspects of our current society. The worst manifestation of this would be a job interview that my friend attended several months ago. My friend was in his semi-casual attire, since the guidelines specifically mentioned that there was no particular dress code for the event. However, my friend distinctively noticed how candidates wearing expensive suits were favored more by the interview board. This shows that the candidates were largely assessed based on their outward appearance. Incidents like these send the message that people need to spend more money to make themselves look better, and many people in today's world end up conforming to such unsaid standards of the society.

People are also encouraged to spend more on their clothes by celebrities and social media influencers. These public figures can always be seen wearing expensive clothes and promoting wearing such extravagant clothing as a way to succeed in life. I saw an advert by a popular Instagram influencer last month, where he plays the character of a male who was initially rejected by the girl he liked. The advert goes on to show that after the male switched his clothes to those of a very expensive brand, he was accepted by the girl. This advert is a classic example of how celebrities send the message that appearance is determined by expensive clothing, and people should spend more on their clothes if they are to improve how they look.

Finally, the proof that a big portion of the society do spend a lot on their clothes these days can be found in the very high prices of today's clothes in general. I could walk into the cheapest clothing shop in my neighborhood right now to discover price tags that are much higher than what I would have found merely a few years ago. For prices to be high in general, there needs to be an abundant demand of such expensive clothes. This points in the direction that people tend to spend more on clothing these days.

In conclusion, I agree that people spend too much money on their clothing to improve their appearances. This is because our society has a high proclivity towards judging people's appearances based on their clothes. Influencers and celebrities also promote similar views, causing people to opt for very expensive clothes. My opinion is also evident by the very high prices of clothes in general in today's world.