Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Corporations are entrenched in the modern way of life as we know it, be it for providing employment opportunities to the community, or to ensure quality products and services to the public. The prompt presents two opposing beliefs on the role of corporations in societies. Some people are inclined to believe that these organizations should pay heed to the betterment of the society and environment, while others have a tendency to view corporations as money-making machines only. I strongly agree with the former group of people, for two reasons that I elaborate below.

If corporations were focused on increasing their revenues only, they might tend to overlook critical issues, like ensuring a healthy workload on their employees and workers. While it might be within the law for employees to put their “best effort” while carrying out their jobs, corporations who are blinded by their drive for money may overstress their workers. For example, it is no secret that many Amazon employees have to continuously work for hours, “legally,” at a minimum wage. Some workers have even reported that they are not allowed toilet breaks during their shifts to ensure the greatest productivity. This affects the workers’ physical and mental health, both in the short-term and the long-term, while also promoting impractical and inhumane work practices to other aspiring companies. Should the cost of corporations improving a nation’s economy really be its people stripped of their rights to toilet breaks?

Focusing on the betterment of the society also paves the way for corporations to deliver better services and products, which might gain more acceptance from their consumers, and consequently improve the company’s revenues. For instance, a tobacco company, that puts significant efforts to reduce the virulent effects of tobacco on human lungs may eventually develop a safer form of this omnipresent recreation that people indulge in. This will inevitably improve the company’s revenues and help them proliferate.

Although it might be argued that sometimes the interest of economics and those of societies do not go hand-in-hand, if corporations focus more on the well-being of the societies, it will most definitely help them grow more. The reasons for this have been aptly presented above. At the end of the day, the money that corporations earn are for the benefit of its people, and those benefits will start to dwindle if their societies and environments are not looked after.