To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The cities of a society are like the beating hearts of a nation, continuously working in its own rhythm. Because cities are the places where the maximum number of facilities lie,

be it in employment, education or entertainment, it is not surprising that these places attract people from all parts of a country. The prompt states that the most vital properties of any society can be found by analyzing its cities. Considering that it is typically the cities where the lion's share of a nation's economical gains occur and where a wide variety of people dwell in, I mostly agree with the statement of the prompt.

The first thing that comes to mind when anyone thinks of cities is possibly how they are always abuzz with working people. The reason for this, obviously, is that cities normally accomodate the good companies, markets and other workplaces. Consequently, there are more work opportunities in a city than there would be in the rural counterparts of a society. More work leads to more money, both for the individual worker and for the society. It can thus be said that a huge proportion of a society's economical status can be understood by analyzing the different types of workplaces and earning sources that exist in its cities. This is specially true of nations which only have a handful of cities to boast about. Take for instance a country like Bangladesh. Its two main cities are responsible for 90% of the economic growth of the country, and anyone who wants to understand the very important attribute of Bangladesh's economy will inevitably have to study its cities. On the contrary, while studying the rural regions of a society may lead someone to gather information about other aspects of the society, the economy is not something that will that can be understood by such studies.

Moreover, as mentioned in a previous paragraph, the abundance of opportunities in cities attracts more people towards it. In fact, there is sufficient evidence in the social science literatures that show that major cities of a country will consist of people who represent the different cultural societies of that country. This fact is not surprising considering that cities are to people what honey is to ants. Consequentially, this means that any comprehensive study of the major cities of a society will yield information about the different existing cultures of that society - a metric that is clearly a very important one to assess the characteristics of a society.

However, there might be a few features present in a society that can only fully be understood by studying the rural areas. But the world that we live in right now has been shaped up to be such that the most important features of a society can be understood by studying its cities only, as I explain in the previous paragraphs.