"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Young people are the foundations of the future of any nation, and the present generation bears the responsibility of teaching these fresh minds the best ideals for the betterment of the society. The prompt states that, for young people to lead in the various aspects of society, they should be exposed to a cooperative mindset, rather than a competitve one. I mostly agree with the prompt for two reasons that I elaborate below.

If someone is cooperative as a leader, they will have a broader sense of the responsibilities imposed upon them, and hence will have a greater tendency to look out for the betterment of the society. If a government has the mindset of collaborating with, let's say, other nations of the world, they can tackle many pressing issues of the current world. For example, in order to overcome the threat that the world faces due to global warming, a consolidated effort from the world's major nations is required. If young people who make it to the government are not taught to be cooperative, but rather to be competitive, they will have the mindset to look out only for their own countries and protect their own people from such global threats. While loyalty to your own people is a very necessary attribute to have, a non-cooperative attitude in such a global crisis will have unprecedented ramifications. Consequentially, these people will also not succeed in their goal of saving their own people.

An excessive sense of competition bestwoed upon the young generation can also entrench an overly selfish behavior inside them. This can transcend into the levels where they only look out for themselves, and not even the team that they are a part of. Take for example, a high-official at a company who will not think twice before jeopardizing the very organization that he works for, only for his own good. In such a case, the competitive mindset instilled inside them makes them a bad leader, instead of a good one.

However, I will concede that a healthy level of competition in the minds of the future leaders can be a good thing. A controlled level of competition in the leaders of the government or industry can provide them with an extra thrust to do better. But the best in the leaders will only come out when this competitive sense is reinforced with an ample amount of cooperation.