It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

While some people may value newer friends more, I believe that it is more important to take greater care of older friendships. I hold this opinion for three reasons.

Firstly, older friends know us better. They have had more time to recognize what interests us, what we enjoy and what we do not like to do. Because they will be able to relate to us more, we will end up having more fun spending time with older friends than newer ones. On the other hand, newer friends might not agree to everything that we like, and we might be forced to suppress our interests to preserve the friendship. For example, a person might enjoy a particular genre of movie. An older friend would know about this and would be willing to watch it with him, even if the friend personally does not enjoy watching this genre. On the contrary, when this person is around new friends who find this particular genre peculiar, he might be unwilling to express his interest to watch the movie that he wants to, and end up having a bad time. Because older friends know us better and is more accepting of our likes and desires, they should have greater importance in our lives compared to the newer friends.

Secondly, older friends are more likely to come forward to help us in time of dire needs. They have a stronger sense of loyalty to us. Take, for example, a person who is suddenly in need of a financial loan to pay off an urgent debt and is looking to borrow it from a friend. A newer friend would have doubts about the urgency or the necessity of the money that this person is looking for. The new friend might suspect that lending him the money might mean that he will never get it back. An older friend, on the contrary, would be glad to come forward to help. The fact that our older friends know us better and trust us more enables them to help us when we need it the most. Older friends should therefore have a much higher value in our lives.

Finally, newer friends are usually made as we dwell in our current involvements. These friendships are usually ephemeral - they last as long as we are involved with these people. For example, a person may make new friends in her current work place. While she might be able to relate to these new friends more for the time being, these friendships are likely to end as soon as she shifts her job to another place. If she values these new friends more, and her older friends less, she might end up losing touch with her older friends in the process. Eventually, when she transfers herself to a different job, she might suddenly discover herself with very few friends. The newer "friendships" that she valued more will not be there, while the older friends would have moved on with their lives. Therefore, since newer friendships usually last for a shorter period of time, we should invest our efforts behind keeping our older friends.

In conclusion, I agree with the statement given in the question for the three reasons that I have mentioned above.