The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our

prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share

of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo from the advertising director, it is stated that although there were less people that saw the super screen produced movies, there was a lot of good reviews by the movie reviewers. Thus, leading to the conclusion that, it is not the quality of the movies but the public's lack of awareness of this great movies, therefore the rational for a higher budget for next year advertising is requested. However, to evaluate this recommedation, two questions must be answered for this to form a cogent argument.

To begin with, how significant is the percentage increase of positive reviews in comparison to the previous year. Admittedly, if there were about a 1000 positive reviews in the previous year which was an increase of 500 from it's preceding year then this is indeed a prodigious increase of 50 percent and has to be critically analysed. But is there even a small chance that the increase might just be a case of 10 good reviews in the previous year stated verses 9 reviews in it's preceding year which is not a significant increase neither would it be worth the time and investment to investigate further. Thus, to thoroughly analyse this case of the positive reviews, actual report stating not the percentages but the exact number of reviews would be needed as evidence. If the numbers are not impressive or there is no significant increase, then this argument has been severely weakened.

Secondly, the advertising manager has assumed that the previous year would be the same as the current year. Can the previous year be in juxtaposition of the current year? That is to say, is there a possibility that there might be other factors leading to better reviews by the movie reviewers in the previous year that are not investigated? If there has been more terrible weather in all preceding years but in the previous year we had a good amount of sunshine leading up to a brighter mood and thus leading to the greater amount of good reviews received by the super screen movies we would not know. What was the climate in relation with the previous years verses the last year, an adequate report of the weather conditions is also crucial evidence that would help evaluate if this argument holds water.

In conclusion, there is a possibility of other factors that could possibly affect the result of a higher percentage of good review last year. It is also certain that there is a chance that last year cannot be used as a measure of success for the current year, in order to clear the doubts, adequate reports of actual numbers of reviews is needed as well as climate or weather conditions of the years been put in comparison to one another for this to form a cogent and useful recommendation that is based on facts and not fallacious claims.