The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

“To answer the increased demand for artisanal coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, ‘Gourmet Select.’ Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months, Apex Corporation will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make ‘Gourmet Select’ one of the top sellers in the coffee market.

In this argument, the author claims that a new brand of coffee launched by Apex Corporation named 'Gourmet Select'(GM) will become one of the top sellers in the cofee market. To bolster his standing, the author cites some pieces of evidence. Although the argument seems logical at first glance, it has been flawed with some unwarranted assumptions that need to be justified.

Firstly, the argument based on the reference that GM, as a replacement of artisalan coffee (AC), will dominate the coffee market hopefully. However, it is not necessarily true that customer will accept GM as much they have the fascination for AC in a similar manner. The author did not provide any information regarding the ingredients or manufacturing process of the two types of coffee. Also, the flavors and taste may be dissimilar or not. Thus, how could the arguer become sure that GM will fulfill the rising want of AC? It seems that there remains an urge of knowing the answers; Without these, the argument may not be blindly believed.

Secondly, the author explains about the marketing strategy of GM, initially in the major supermarkets via word of mouth advertisement, followed by the advertisement at television and radio after some months for making the GM leading brand. However, this promotional approach may fail to achieve its success for the following reasons. This is an era of online shopping. For instance, the number of particulars does shopping from the supermarkets may lesser than the individuals who prefer home delivery. If this holds true, the online customers will remain unaware of the new coffee GM due to the erroneous business plan. So, the word of mouth advertisement will not bring desirable results. The argument flawed with the evidence that shows the number of major chain restaurant going people; it also hides how many people watch tv and listens to the radio in this twentieth century: age of digitalization.

Thirdly, another assumption of arguer is that with the above mentioned strategic business plan of Apex Corporation, it will reach its utmost goal of controlling the coffee market as a leading one. Suppose that all these stated assumptions are true; even if we cannot reach a conclusion. Since Apex Corporation, in case of coffee release, is not a sole organization; many competitive companies also releasing coffee parallelly in the market which may entice the customer in a better way than the GM. In the end, The author also missed declaring about the cost. Perhaps GM will more expensive than AC.

To recapitulate, the number of unwarranted assumptions, in the previous sections, questions about the validity of the argument. Unless they are properly addressed with citing some veritable proof, the argument will still be fallacious.