The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

The argument is an article written by Dr. Karp where he concludes that his interview centered method is much more accurate to predict the child-rearing traditions of Tertia Island compared to that of predicted by an observation based method carried out by Dr. Field two decades ago. To bolster Dr. Karp's argument, he cites a list number of assumptions, however, these are flawed with lack of specific evidence. Unless providing these evidences to substantiate the claims of Dr. Karp, the argument is susceptible to debate.

To begin, according to the argument the time gap between Dr. Karp's observation and Dr. Field's observation is twenty years. Since two decades is a remarkable time span, any major changes in Tertia people can be occurred. So, the arguer needs to explicitly cite what the specific changes in Tertia community did happen between this twenty years period.

Secondly, As the Dr. Karp's observation take interview from the children of group of islands including Tertia, the author of the argument needs to clarify how many children of Tertia Island were interviewed in Dr. Karp's interview centered technique, and what the actual proportion of these Tertia children among the entire group of children interviewed from the children of group of islands is. . If none of children of Tertia community is interviewed in Dr. karp's investigation, and other children from different islands response much more about their biological parents rather than other adults in their village, it will not focus the actual child-rearing pattern of Tertia children. So, before making a generalized child-rearing pattern for all the children entire islands community, the author must include the authentic evidence that all the islands are equally interviewed.

Thirdly, in this argument, Dr Karp assumes that the interviews taken by his graduate students are authentic and reliable. Since his existence during the interview is not clearly stated in the argument, how does he aver the transparency of his team mates if he is not present there? The students who conducted the interview may bias the statement, and declare that the children are more reared by their parents. Thus, to strengthen Dr. Karp's claim that his interview centered method is more effective, he needs clarify the reliability of the information that the interviews declare.

To sum up, the argument is unpersuasive and needs more clarification on the above mentioned issues. If the author provide evidences that explicitly buttress the above mentioned unwarranted assumptions, the conclusion that the author states can be more strengthened.