A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The discussion about whether a nation should exhort its children to study common curricula until they get enrolled in college or not is a polemical one. While there are people on both the sides of the issue with strong feelings, I completely agree with the statement and believe that a uniform national curriculum for all the school going students is a must for a basement of fundamental knowledge. This essay shall delve into the reasons why it is so important.

Firstly, college, an educational institution that usually provides education to its student to make specialized in some specific areas, can have a great flexibility to choose its student when there is a uniform background for all admission seeking students. Since there is a common gradation of results of the school passing students owing to have a common curriculum, the college authority can easily choose their best students from the applicants. For instance, if there are different curriculums among the students and there is no authentic method of equivalency among the curriculums, it would be quite daunting for any college or other authority to find out who are the best students on the basis of their results. Because a student who is the best of a curriculum may be one of the average students of other curriculum systems. Furthermore, a uniform curriculum also helps a student by proving a general view of all the prospective field of studies that he or she is going to study in his or her college life. For example, due to specialization in the school level, a student has to choose one of the available options like arts or science in his or school level. As a result, the student loses the chance to further study the other fields that he or she did not choose at the school level. Thus, a uniform education system for all the students in secondary and higher secondary level is not only a benediction for the college to have a greater flexibility to choose its newcomers but is a boon for the students also who have a general overview for all the possible field of specializations.

Secondly, a uniform national curriculum can provide the facility to have a common education for all the children in a country. Nowadays, education is becoming a product in third world countries like Bangladesh, India and like so. The reality is that there are patent variations in the curriculums, and opulent people buy the best product of education to give their children. As an illustration, in Bangladesh, between the two well known educational curriculums-Bangla and English (British and National), to study in an English medium school is very much expensive that can be only affordable by the wealthy people. As a result, there is an appreciable discrimination in school study between the children of indigent and affluent people of the society, and this results in a compensable variation with respect to the measurement of knowledge that they learned in their school study. So, it is very much necessary to have a common school curriculum so that the students from all the levels of a society can get a uniform education.

Finally, if there is a common curriculum for all the school children, the curriculum can include a wide variety of topics so that the students have a common view about these topics. It can be exemplified that since there is no specialization in the school curriculum, it can include more common topics like the codes of conduct, the history, and traditions of its country, religions and so on. As a result, students who will terminate their study after the school life and start their professional life will have the knowledge, and this knowledge will influentially help them to be more sincere and responsible to their job, personal life, and the society.

To summarize, the above discussion has depicted the various potential aspects of a same national curriculum for the school students of a country. So my firm conviction is that a country should impose a homogeneous curriculum for its students until they enter in the college.