The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

he author asserted that a jazz music club in Monroe would gain a huge profit in business, based on some statistics about the situation of local jazz clubs and some other relevant things. However, the argument is untenable in many ways for lacks of more comprehensive and entailed evidence from some surveys or statistics cited.

Firstly, the type of a jazz music club is claimed to be profitable but lacks comparison with other types of clubs like rock music club or country music club, which might be also profitable in such a town where many people prefer music as entertainment. Moreover, as an serious enterprise, according to the author’s argument a jazz music club seems to be a huge success. But in fact it might not be suitable for all the people who want to make some money in this area. For example, if a man is such a learned and skillful person who is good at running a company focus on architecture of some other field, than he will earn more money on architecture than running a club, which he is not good at. If some statistics affirmed that the profit made by a tiny club is far less than running a company then the words used by the author seem unproper.

Secondly, according to the author, the nearest jazz club is too far so the new club will make profit alone in the area. But we lack the evidence demonstrating that people near the town are not willing to drive so far to the jazz club. If they did some surveys and showed that the distance affected people’s behaviors severely then the new club has some reason to be founded.

Moreover, the fact that over 100,000 people attended a jazz festival in Monroe does not mean that large numbers will go to a jazz club in the city. For example, the people may have attended because the festival was free, or they could have traveled from afar to see a famous musician, but are not willing to come for a regular club venue.

What’s more, the fact that the highest-rated program in Monroe is “Jazz Nightly” does not necessarily indicate a preference for jazz. It could be the only music option at a popular listening time, so people turn it on rather than talk radio. It also could have high reviews merely because it airs often at a popular time. Furthermore, people may prefer listening to jazz as background music rather than attending a club specifically to listen to it. They also might not feel a need to attend a club because they can listen on the radio for free.

In sum, some more evidences need to be listed by the author in order to convince its clients that founding a new jazz club is a reasonable thing to do.