10. Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It is advised that in the future the research on Tertian child-rearing practices should be conducted via the interview-centered method. According to the article, the recommendation is based on Dr. Karp’s study on the islands. However, the reliability of Dr. Karp’s study has not be ensured yet by other relevant evidences. So, there are plenty of questions remained to be answered before make some effective advice.

Firstly, there are many differences between the studies of Dr. Field and Dr. Karp. On the one hand, Dr. Field’s study was conducted twenty years ago. Accounting of the development of the island, things may have changed since then. It was likely true that children in Tertia were reared by and entire village twenty years ago. But as time went by maybe their parents found it bad for their growth so that they have changed the rearing strategies. On the other hand, Dr. Field only studied the island of Tertia years ago, while Dr. Karp studies lots of other islands. Given the rare information on the samples’ numbers Dr. Karp has studied, it is difficult to draw a conclusion that he has conducted a comprehensive interview on the islands because of the potential disparities among the islands. In this case, Dr. Karp’s assertion on Dr. Field’s conclusion invalid might be untenable.

Secondly, the problems lie on Dr. Karp’s interviews. It was mentioned in the article that the interviews’ objects are mainly children. It should be explained more in details about the deep reasons on the choice of the objects. Children are a group of people growing in both their thoughts and their ability to articulation. So the information given by the children might be imprecise, which depends on the ages and health situation of the children. On the other hand, the children might have some prejudice when talking about their adoptive parents. To be more specific, they act like more intimate relationships with their biological parents because they hope to contact more with them. Hence, the authenticity of the children’s answers remains to be discussed more.

Thirdly, how significant is the word 'some' in relation to the number of the anthropologists suggesting the idea of using the interview-centered approach? It may be possible that, the number is not significant at all; alternatively, the number of anthropologists advocating the other method may be greater. Just from the suggestions of few, an all-encompassing generalization doesn't sound too convincing.

No matter which scientist is correct, there is no reason to limit scientific studies in the future to only one type of test. There could be a third method of study that is more effective than the ones used to date, or the combination could complement each other and eliminate inconsistencies in the data.