The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that starting a new jazz music club in Monroe would be profitable. He came to this conclusion by taking the point that its very popular in Monroe as an evidence. But, based on the assumptions that author has made, one cannot conclude that it brings profits if jazz music club is started.

Firstly, the author assumes that this jazz music is popular in Monroe based on some facts. It was given that over 100,000 people attended annual jazz festival last summer, but we don't know that total number of people in the city. It could be reasonable if they mention the proportion of people that attended the festival. However, if we assume that most people of the city have attended the festival, it doesn't mean that they'll attend it on regular basis. It depends on many factors like entry ticket price, timings and the environment.

Furthermore, if well-known musicians live here, we can't conclude that it's popular in Monroe. There could be many reasons for their staying here like the cost-of-living, pleasant environment and family matters. So, it is irrelevant to claim that jazz music is famous here based on the musicians living.

Also, as the rating of a radio program is high, we can't conclude that we can establish music club here. Many people might want to watch the show just by sitting at their homes instead of going and listening in live performances. Also, many people may concern about the costs of the entry fee in clubs. Also, we should know how is the study conducted, hw many people are surveyed. It also depends on the questions asked in the survey.

I understand the author's point that a new jazz music club in Monroe would be very profitable enterprise, but we can conclude that if we get more facts about the assumptions made by the author. If all the assumptions are perfectly proved with the facts, then the city can decide on developing the new club.