The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, a jazz music club in Monroe would be tremendously profitable."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author argues that the absence of Jazz club in Monroe despite the popularity of Jazz music, provides a brilliant chance to set up a profitable business. While the author could be wise in suggesting that, there are a lot of assumptions and logical leaps in the argument which seriously undermine the predicted profitability of the business.

The primary argument is that Jazz music is very popular among Monroe residents. The author assumes that the number of people attending the annual fest can be taken as a measure of the popularity. Being an annual fest, cited event is most likely to attract fans from nearby cities, even far ones depending upon the event. For the cited event and attendance to be of any value in indicating the popularity of the Jazz music in Monroe, it is to be known how many of the participants were Monroe residents.

Even though the annual fest attendance casts doubt on the conclusion drawn, author tries to bolster it by providing another fact, namely the highest rated status enjoyed by the radio program 'Jazz nightly'. Sounding convincing at the first look, it nevertheless does not provide evidence that the people are after Jazz music; other than the name, nothing is stated about the program and it could well be interviews with Jazz musicians ( argument states that there are Jazz musicians residing in Monroe) or about something tangentially related to Jazz music. If that be the case reading the interest of the citizens in the program for Jazz music itself will be highly misleading.

Even if it is the case that Jazz music is really popular in Monroe, it does not provide that the citizens would frequent a Jazz club, had the city got one. Nothing about the economic status of the residents are stated which will play a crucial role in the proposed club earning revenue. What if the majority, save the Musicians mentioned in the argument, finds it difficult to patron a Jazz club. It could well be a reason for the long absence of a Jazz club in Monroe.

Even if the citizens are wealthy enough that a Jazz club seems affordable, there is nothing to be based to predict their spending on the same. The author quotes a study conducted nationwide, which concluded that an average fan spends 1000 dollars per year. Are the spending habits of of Jazz fans alike across the nation? Even if the Jazz fans in Monroe are in agreement with the spending habits, profitability cannot be evaluated unless the number of expected patrons (depend on population and percentage of Jazz fans in the city), costs of setting the facility and the expense of upkeep are known.

While the argument proposes an interesting business idea, much more research is to done to eliminate the various other variables which could make the above assumptions unwarranted, and thus the plan, not worthy enough to commit economic resources into.