The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The passage written by a group of developers in the city of Monroe claims that it would be immensely lucrative to open a new jazz club in Monroe due to several reasons. While this may seem plausible, this passage is rife with holes and assumptions and needs to be eradicated in order to maintain such claim. Such flaws would be discussed further in detail below.

First of all, it is undefined in the passage about the actual reason why over 100,000 people attend the Monroe's jazz festival every year. It could be easily misperceived that the reason so many people attend the festival is because citizens in Monroe have great affection towards jazz. However, people might actually be using this jazz festival in order to socialize and make new friends or meet someone new. Maybe the food that is being served in the booths are extremely delicious and are nowhere to be found in any restaurants in Monroe. For the passage to use this evidence to advocate its claim, it should provide clear reason to why the Monroe's jazz festival attracts 100,000 people annually.

Furthermore, the developers of Monroe assume that jazz is extremely popular in Monroe because several celebrated jazz musicians are living in Monroe and the main concept of the highest ranked radio program is jazz. However, the reason why the musicians are residing in Monroe might simply be because Monroe is a great place to live. Maybe it is a germane for musicians to write music because it is serene and enables them to easily focus on their musical talents. Also, it could be easily misinterpreted that the reason Jazz Nightly is the highest-rated radio program is because people love jazz. However, it could also be because the radio host is an extremely famous celebrity and already possessed many fans. For this evidence to successfully uphold the claim of the passage, substantial information about the reason why jazz musicians chose to live in Monroe and why the radio program ranked the highest needs to be clarified.

Last and foremost, the passage made a clear mistake assuming that people would generally love jazz because jazz entertainment earns approximately $1,000 every year. However, it has not been descripted how many fans the nationwide study conducted their study on. The amount could be negligible which is not enough to have any meaning or maybe typical jazz fans are all rich and $1,000 is just a piece of gum. The passage lacks of information about whether the jazz fans that participated in the study could be represented to all the jazz fans or even to general people nationwide.

To sum up, the passage might seem plausible that it would bring enormous profit to the Monroe if they open a new jazz club and even suggests several evidences that advocates its claim. However, in order for the group of developers in Monroe to maintain such claim, they should eliminate the mistakes they made such as, elucidating the reason why so many people are attracted to the jazz festival, clarifying the reason why citizens in Monroe love Jazz Nightly or why jazz musicians choose to live in Monroe, or check whether the jazz fans that were studied for the nationwide study are representative.