"In general, people are not as concerned as they were a decade ago about regulating their intake of red meat and fatty cheeses. Walk into Heart's Delight, a store that started selling organic fruits and vegetables and whole-grain flours in the 1960's, and you will also find a wide selection of cheeses made with high butterfat content. Next door, the owners of the Good Earth Cafe, an old vegetarian restaurant, are still making a modest living, but the owners of the new House of Beef across the street are millionaires."

The author has concluded that people are not concern much in their calorie intake of red meat and fatty cheeses unlike people of decade ago. To support his conclusion, author has exhibited the example of heart's Delight, Good Earth Cafe and the new House of Beef that they have change their business as per the food habit of consumers. Although the argument has some merits, because of weak assumption, lack of evidence and vague language make the argument unsubstantiated. Hence, the argument is deeply flawed.

Firstly, the author assumed that as Heart's Delight is not selling cheeses products, which was selling organic fruits and vegetables and whole-grain flours in the 1960's that means consumer are not concern about their intake of fatty cheeses. But, there is no clear evidence that consumer is taking cheeses above the required level. Moreover, there is no data on customer in both time intervals. Without this information, it is hard to believe that author assumption is correct.

Secondly, the author stated that the owners of the new House of Beef are millionaires whereas the owners of the Good Earth Cafe, an old vegetarian restaurant, is not earning enough and living a modest life style. According to author, this is a clear indication of consumer eating pattern shift to red meat from vegetable products. However, one business is flourishing compare to other business depends on various factors such as, marketing strategy, advertisement and working staff's capability. As author has not mentioned any information that the owners of House of Beef is getting richer only due to consumer food habits, the reasoning remained vague and unpersuasive.

Lastly, author has not mentioned data on intake value of consumers and concluded that current consumers are taking more calorie that people of 1960. It is quite possible that if a person change his food habit form vegetarian to non-vegetarian, he still can control food intake. Therefore, argument is based on false assumption.