The government in Littleville plans to build a large mall in a newly constructed zone just outside the city. Littleville hopes to attract many wealthy clients who it believes will shop at the Littleville Mall's many planned boutique stores. Ten years ago, Bigsburgh, a city in the same province, built an upscale mall in its fashionable downtown district. The mall was an instant success, so Littleville Mall can expect a similar return on revenue in the first year of its opening. So you can see here that, okay, we have this argument statement. It's lot much longer than the issue, and it's making certain assumptions.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primarily, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that the city of Littleville and Bigsburg are the same, rendering its main conclusion, that the littleville mall will follow the success of bigsburg’s mall, invalid.

The argument fails to provide any justification that two cities are similar in terms of their respective populations. For one, the residents of Bigsburgh may be wealthier than those of Littleville. This important difference could explain the success of bigsburgh’s mall. More significantly, the argument states that the Littleville’s mall hopes to attract wealthy clientele. If Littleville is a middle or lower class city, then the assumption that wealthy customers will patron the store is without basis. Had the argument provided information regarding the similarity in the income levels of the two cities residents. Even then, the argument would have to further prove that, like the citizen of Bigsburgh, those of littleville are likely to spend money at a mall.

The argument also leaves many other unanswered questions. Even if the residents of Littleville are wealthy enough to patron boutique stores, they are not necessarily likely to travel to a newly constructed zone. Nonetheless, the argument assumes that because residents of Bigsburgh frequented a mall in a fashionable central location area that the residents of Littleville, even if they are likely to spend, will make a trip to zone outside the city. …

Finally, the argument claims without warrant that what held true ten years ago will hold true today. So, even if we assume that the residents of Littleville are similar to those of Bigsburgh, the argument is still lacking because it does not provide information to show that the general economic climate has not changed.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that Littleville’s mall will mirror the success of the one in bigsburg.