As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

With the rapid growth of technology we are able to perform many tasks with ease. Technology can complete many tasks for us. But, still technology will think what humans have given it to think. It cannot think itself. All technology needs human to operate. Even if the technology uses artificial intelligence it will need human to operate it. So, Human ability of thinking will not deteriorate.

Technology are made by humans. Technology lacks in ability to think itself. Humans are the ones who operate on technology. For example, in a factory equipped with high technological equipment will need humans to operate them. Moreover, a student studying in school can't rely on technology completely. If the student is given to write an essay technology cannot write an essay for him. The essay have various requirements and technology cannot fulfill all the requirement as the student can. Similarly scientist also use technology but they need to solve big complex issues by themselves. Technology helps human in thinking but human cannot rely on technology completely. We can also take example of ETS GRE. My essay in GRE is read by a human and a computer. Since ETS cannot rely on marks given by computer ETS will give my essay to a person to read it. In this way technology will help us to solve a problem faster but for complex problem human brain will be needed. So, the ability of thinking will not deteriorate.

To even bolster my statement that ability of human to think themselves will not deteriorate we can take example of many recent innovation. With the rapid growth of technology we are now even more capable of making a big innovation. Many space agencies are planning to go to Mars and stay there. Due to Spacex new innovation we cannot make rockets in less budget. Car are capable to drive itself. Our mobile phone is capable to doing many tasks from helping us to become fit to help us in many of our research works. We can talk with anyone in anywhere in the world with our mobile phone. Hence, with innovation of technology human are thinking more efficiently and making big innovations.

However, it is also true that we are thinking much less than before. We are able to use calculator and solve difficult arithmetic problems in a second. This makes us think less. When we think less our thinking capability will surely deteriorate. But, it is also true that with the help technology we are able to concentrate in complex problem. When concentrating in complex problem we will not deteriorate our thinking ability but it will bolster our thinking capability.

With the growth of technology we will be thinking more on complex problem. Hence, our thinking capability will not be deteriorated.