gre argument essay

Essay topics

Author proposes a solution for the disadvantage in the employment competition of Classen students. One can argue that departmental courses offers more specialization so that student gets more qualified and experienced about general methods, tool in their jobs. Even the conclusion they reach may be true, this proposal would require more information about the employment rate and students to be sure about functioning of new departmental curriculum.

First of all, the result mentioned in the argument can be due to higher local unemployment. In this case, it is usual to have disadvantage compared to other top-ranked schools. For instance, in Italy and Spain, unemployment rate reaches to %20 and accordingly even Bocconi as being top-ranked school can have lower job placement rates compared to other top-ranked schools in other countries. Hence, before warranting any action, one should conduct a search and examine employment opportunities between countries.

Additionally, it is also good to consider that observed rates can be due to students’ attitude or cultural effects shaped by new trending ideas. For instance, nowadays, in Turkey gap years have become more popular more and more, %10 of graduated students prefer to spend one year as a gap year. To illustrate, gap years are seen as an opportunity in order to decide what to do more clearly and specifically instead of directly jumping to jobs. As a result, this new tradition leads to lower job placement rate of new graduates and we come up with statistics which are independent from quality of education.

Besides, even the university regulates such a curriculum change, students may not act that much self-devoting to their areas or instructors would not be able to give enough intuition in order to improve qualified students. For instance, In Turkey, all the top-ranked schools have a policy such that last two years of undergraduate education consist of more departmental courses at the aim of specialization. However, most students have lack of their specific job knowledge such as Autocad as an engineering tool or Matlab as mathematical tool. This illustrates the fact that efficiency of this plan depends mainly on students and instructors, otherwise we cannot observe enormous increases in the job placement.

In conclusion, all the examples and angles given point out that such curriculum changes would require unemployment rate and student type analysis to make sure.